Opinion » Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Discovering 50 years of queer history in Silicon Valley

Guest Opinion: Discovering 50 years of queer history in Silicon Valley

By Ken Yeager

To visitors of all ages, sexualities, and identities, the one comment I hear the most when I'm a docent at the new South Bay queer museum exhibit is, "I didn't know any of this."

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 792 Stories

By Scott Wiener | October 13, 2021

Gay state Senator Scott Wiener writes about the highs and lows for LGBTQs of the just-completed legislative session.

By Faauuga Moliga | October 6, 2021

In San Francisco those of us who are Democrats dominate politics in the city.


By David Chiu | September 29, 2021

Despite former President Donald Trump's reelection defeat last year, in recent times, we have seen the manifestation of Trumpism as his political allies across the country continue to target our democratic institutions and our most vulnerable.

By Bob Goldfarb | September 22, 2021

The Leather & LGBTQ Cultural District, created by the San Francisco Board of Supervisors in 2018, is 22 city blocks in the South of Market neighborhood that have been home to numerous leather and kink venues since the 1960s.


By Les K. Wright | September 15, 2021

When the COVID-19 shutdown began in the spring of 2020, I posted on Facebook that I expected the pandemic to be, for me, a pain in the ass, a royal pain in the ass.

By Annie Koruga | September 8, 2021

Homophobes don't belong in the Democratic Party.


By BAR staff | September 8, 2021

This week's letters offer opinions on the B.A.R.'s tobacco ads in the print edition, the rainbow flag flap, and support for the Alameda Democratic County Central Committee's new bylaw change.

By Gaynorann Siataga | September 1, 2021

Members of several Pacific Islander groups in San Francisco urge LGBTQs not to support the recall of school board Vice President Faauuga Moliga.


By by Jeff Sheehy | August 25, 2021

Former San Francisco Supervisor Jeff Sheehy discusses controversy surrounding Gilbert Baker's rainbow flag in the Castro.

By by Jim Chappell | August 18, 2021

In 1977 I escaped from the Midwest and arrived in our gay haven, the Castro. Even though I was in my early 30s I did something a young person would never be able to do today ... buy a fixer in District 8.


By Tiffany Woods and Lester Aponte | August 11, 2021

Governor Gavin Newsom has been a champion of LGBTQ+ equality for decades. Full Stop!

By Shanell Williams and Tom Temprano | August 4, 2021

City College of San Francisco's students, faculty, and staff faced significant challenges during COVID-19, and the safety of our students has been at the forefront of the college's pandemic response.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 792 Stories