Opinion » Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Hope of deliverance

Guest Opinion: Hope of deliverance

By Paulina Angel

Looking back at the last two years, it feels like an eternity.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 814 Stories

By Pau Crego and JM Jaffe | March 30, 2022

Last month, gay state Senator Scott Wiener (D-San Francisco) introduced Senate Bill 293, the TGI Inclusive Care Act.

By Alex Lemberg | March 23, 2022

The long-awaited reimagining of Harvey Milk Plaza and the Castro Muni Station have broad public support in the neighborhood.


By Derek Marshall | March 16, 2022

I didn't come out as gay until my late 20s. I feared that if I showed my true identity, I would be judged, rejected, or discriminated against.

By David "Gaybraham Lincoln" Thompson | March 2, 2022

The recall of San Francisco school board President Gabriela López and Commissioners Faauuga Moliga and Alison Collins united the entire city in demanding competent leaders for our children, and it would not have happened without the LGBTQIA community.


By John Lisovsky | February 18, 2022

The national teacher shortage has not spared San Francisco, which is seeing extreme difficulty filling teaching positions.

By Eric J. Ellman | February 16, 2022

If you're transitioning into your true gender identity, legally changing your name marks an important milestone in becoming your authentic self.


By Dwayne Ratleff | February 2, 2022

After returning home and putting the food away, our mother instructed [my sister and I] to change out of our play clothes and into our school clothes.

By Charlie Hunts | January 26, 2022

What if using a credit card meant being deadnamed every time that you pulled it out. Due to defunct security practices at traditional banks, for most of the trans community that's reality.


By Adriana Roberts | January 19, 2022

As a 30-year resident of San Francisco — who is also a transgender woman — I was elated when I first saw, in 2017, that the city had designated an official and legally-recognized Transgender District, centered at Turk and Taylor streets.

By David J. Johns | January 12, 2022

The executive director of the National Black Justice Coalition calls for action to honor the Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.'s birthday.


By Ryan Oda | January 5, 2022

While smoking rates have declined nationally in the past 20 years, this reduction has not been shared equally among Black, Indigenous, and people of color communities or the LGBTQ+ community — and especially among those with intersecting identities.

By Honey Mahogany and Race Bannon | December 22, 2021

If you follow San Francisco politics, you know Matt Haney.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 814 Stories