Opinion » Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: A 'thing' (or an 'it'?) called both-siderism

Guest Opinion: A 'thing' (or an 'it'?) called both-siderism

By by Katrina C. Rose

The remark Marshall McPeek, a gay meteorologist at a Sinclair-owned TV station in Ohio, made at this year's NLGJA conference is the here and now.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 636 Stories

By Steve Friess | September 12, 2018

NLGJA: The Association of LGBTQ Journalists was concluding a lovely annual convention in Palm Springs last weekend when a nice man said a stupid thing and a lot of other presumably nice, reasonable people became angry.

By Marilyn Murrillo | September 5, 2018

We need members on the San Francisco Unified School District Board of Trustees who are effective leaders dedicated to the safety and education of all students.


By Charlie Spiegel | August 29, 2018

I was appalled to hear a gay man interviewed during this current presidency, or, as I prefer, "residency," who said: "See, he's been in the White House for months and hasn't done away with gay marriage."

By Nancy A. Magee | August 22, 2018

I felt lucky to be sitting with thousands of kindred spirits in Davies Symphony Hall last Friday night enjoying Ellen DeGeneres' first stand-up comedy tour in 15 years.


By Ken Jones | August 15, 2018

The Castro Muni station has meant a lot of different things to me during the past four decades: a construction site. A community rallying place. A point of entry for gay people from around the globe. And now, a workplace.

By Timothy Rodrigues | August 8, 2018

The former Bay Area Reporter assistant editor who wrote the paper's famous "No obits" story reflects on it 20 years later.


By Sandy Close | August 1, 2018

The U.S. Census Bureau is seeking public comment on its 2020 census plan, which includes a citizenship question on the census form all households must answer.

By Bradford Wolfe and Alex Grey | July 25, 2018

There are a limitless number of characteristics that people typically associate with porn stars; these individuals are often presumed to be wild, promiscuous, money-hungry, and morally bankrupt, endorsing an industry rich in corruption and violence.


By Jim Mitulski | July 18, 2018

"Hi! My name is Jim, and we're in the neighborhood today talking about human rights and civil rights for Massachusetts citizens. And, in particular, we want to talk about equal rights for our transgender friends and neighbors ..."

By Emilio Gonzalez | July 11, 2018

When I told my mother what the principal had done to me she took off her white cotton apron, put on her walking shoes, and in her everyday housedress took me by the hand, dabbed my tears, and said, "Let's go, Emilio."


By Carmen Chu | July 4, 2018

Earlier this year, I partnered with assessors across the state to draft and introduce Assembly Bill 2663.

By Brian Basinger | June 27, 2018

This fall, Californians will have a chance to vote on the Affordable Housing Act, which would repeal the Costa-Hawkins Rental Housing Act and return to city governments the option to expand rent control if they feel it's necessary.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 636 Stories