Opinion » Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Recalling Purple Hands protests of 1969

Guest Opinion: Recalling Purple Hands protests of 1969

By Marc Stein

Halloween has long been one of the queerest of holidays, but on October 31, 1969, San Francisco LGBT activists found new ways to confront their terrifying fears of media misrepresentations and police violence.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 696 Stories

By Delia Danae Rawdon | November 13, 2019

I was singled out by TSA for being a transgender woman and I am not the only one.

By Jordan Davis | November 6, 2019

When I read the article about the city awarding $1.15 million in contracts to two reputable nonprofits over the next two years, I was overjoyed, especially since the recipients, St. James Infirmary and Larkin Street Youth Services, are well qualified.


By Rafael Mandelman | October 23, 2019

Earlier this year, our community rejoiced with the opening of the Marcy Adelman and Jeanette Gurevitch Community at 95 Laguna.

By Eric Lifschitz | October 2, 2019

The San Francisco Rent Ordinance (SFRO), enacted in 1979, is recognized for having arguably the strongest pro-tenant protections in the country.


By Hank Trout | September 25, 2019

I have recently learned about a class action lawsuit instituted on behalf of people living with HIV who took one or more of Gilead's tenofovir disoproxil fumarate (TDF) drugs and then suffered kidney disease and/or bone density loss.

By Barbara Lee | September 18, 2019

We've made incredible progress in the fight against HIV and AIDS over the past several decades, but the fight is far from over.


By Nancy Tung | September 11, 2019

We see around us every day that what's happening on our streets isn't working.

By Suzy Loftus | September 11, 2019

We San Franciscans are blessed to live in a city that celebrates our rich diversity, where we find sanctuary with one another.


By Scott Wiener | September 11, 2019

Gay state Senator Scott Wiener makes the case for Kamala Harris for president.

By Leif Dautch | September 4, 2019

When it comes to homelessness, car break-ins, and police accountability, the San Francisco District Attorney's office has been part of the problem — I'm running to make it part of the solution.


By Chesa Boudin | September 4, 2019

When I was in diapers, my parents drove the getaway car in an armed robbery that tragically took three lives. My mother spent 22 years in prison.

By Joe Hollendoner, Rafael Mandelman, and Laura Thomas | September 4, 2019

Recent headlines scream that "Meth is back" but we know that methamphetamine never left the LGBTQ community, at least not here in San Francisco.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 696 Stories