Opinion » Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Biz support needed beyond Pride Month

Guest Opinion: Biz support needed beyond Pride Month

By Ruth Borenstein

Another Pride, another year of people expressing frustration about the large corporate presence at the parade.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 677 Stories

By Nathan Page | July 10, 2019

Jose Sarria has been called the "Rosa Parks of the gay rights movement" of the 1960s. His history is important and now there's an effort underway to induct him posthumously into the California Hall of Fame.

By Marc Huestis | July 2, 2019

Although I was firmly planting roots in San Francisco, I was also itching to see other parts of the world. I was in the prime of my life and I wanted new experiences, new faces, new surroundings.


By Ken Yeager | June 26, 2019

It was in early 1984 when I picked up the Sunday San Jose Mercury News and read an opinion piece by a local state Assembly member stating that homosexuals should have no legal, social, or political standing in society.

By James Brandon | June 19, 2019

Pride Month is here! And with it comes a monthlong excursion navigating coast-to-coast parades to celebrate community, self-affirmation, and a true gathering of family with every facet of the LGBTQ2+ prism.


By Perry N. Halkitis | June 12, 2019

I want to tell you why I wrote "Out in Time: From Stonewall to Queer, How Gay Men Came of Age Across the Generations."

By Jeff Cotter | June 5, 2019

Many people, regardless of their gender identity or sexual orientation, are surprised to hear that Cuba has a vigorous LGBTQ+ movement.


By David Campos | May 29, 2019

In a few days all eyes will be on San Francisco. The California Democratic Party is coming to town.

By Shawn Kumagai | May 29, 2019

I requested at a recent Dublin City Council meeting that the rainbow flag be flown outside City Hall throughout June to honor Pride Month.


By Scott Wiener | May 22, 2019

Last week the chair of the Senate Appropriations Committee decided to unilaterally postpone my housing bill, Senate Bill 50 (the More HOMES Act) without holding a vote.

By Michael Colbruno | May 15, 2019

A spate of recent headlines must make one wonder if the "alphabet soup" movement that has led us to LGBTTIQQ2SA — lesbian, gay, bisexual, transsexual, transgender, intersex, queer, questioning, two spirit, and allies — has finally seen its day.


By Brian Rogers | May 8, 2019

Spring is here! Finally our dreary winter will give way to a beautiful display of the natural beauty in Sonoma County. For lifelong LGBT activists like myself, the longer days of spring also mean Pride season is approaching.

By Cole M. Bienek | May 1, 2019

I live in an environment where the expression of my sexuality is against the law. The California Medical Facility in Vacaville is enlightened enough to offer free condoms to inmates, yet the use of them to have sex is specifically prohibited.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 677 Stories