Opinion » Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: A tribute to Stephen Sondheim

Guest Opinion: A tribute to Stephen Sondheim

By Marc Huestis

In 1971, at the age of 17, I ventured (by myself) from my Long Island home to New York City to see my first live musical: Stephen Sondheim's "Company."

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 799 Stories

By Megan Rohrer | November 23, 2021

As the first trans bishop in a mainline Christian church since the council of Nicaea (325 CE), I am proud to be one of many trans individuals living faithfully in this world.

By Gwenn Craig and Esperanza Macias | November 17, 2021

If elected, David Campos would be the first formerly undocumented, Latinx, and LGBTQ person to ever represent San Francisco in the California State Assembly.


By Maria Hadden and Brian C. Johnson | November 10, 2021

We haven't seen economic inequality this bad in nearly a century.

By Melissa Newton and Alejandra Gomez | November 3, 2021

The Castro district has been a safe space and hotspot for the queer community, expression, and tourism for many decades.


By Rachel K. Cheng | October 27, 2021

The joy of LGBTQ History Month is the opportunity to share the unique and diverse hxstories and experiences of Asian and Pacific Islander LGBTQ individuals and communities.

By Greg Razer | October 20, 2021

While often diminished and constantly overlooked, our LGBTQ history is rich with significant events, especially throughout the 20th century.


By Ken Yeager | October 13, 2021

To visitors of all ages, sexualities, and identities, the one comment I hear the most when I'm a docent at the new South Bay queer museum exhibit is, "I didn't know any of this."

By Scott Wiener | October 13, 2021

Gay state Senator Scott Wiener writes about the highs and lows for LGBTQs of the just-completed legislative session.


By Faauuga Moliga | October 6, 2021

In San Francisco those of us who are Democrats dominate politics in the city.

By David Chiu | September 29, 2021

Despite former President Donald Trump's reelection defeat last year, in recent times, we have seen the manifestation of Trumpism as his political allies across the country continue to target our democratic institutions and our most vulnerable.


By Bob Goldfarb | September 22, 2021

The Leather & LGBTQ Cultural District, created by the San Francisco Board of Supervisors in 2018, is 22 city blocks in the South of Market neighborhood that have been home to numerous leather and kink venues since the 1960s.

By Les K. Wright | September 15, 2021

When the COVID-19 shutdown began in the spring of 2020, I posted on Facebook that I expected the pandemic to be, for me, a pain in the ass, a royal pain in the ass.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 799 Stories