Opinion » Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Substance use an issue among LGBTQs

Guest Opinion: Substance use an issue among LGBTQs

By M.K. Leach

COVID-19 has impacted California in many ways, from causing increased job loss to deaths to forcing the closure of countless businesses to increased substance use within many demographics.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 763 Stories

By David Chiu | April 7, 2021

At just past the one-year mark of COVID-19, we have seen the devastating consequences of the pandemic in every aspect of society.

By Thomas E. Horn | March 31, 2021

For 50 years the Bay Area Reporter has chronicled the development of the LGBT movement in San Francisco.


By Sean Cahill | March 24, 2021

Are Black LGBTQ people disproportionately vulnerable to COVID-19? Are they more hesitant about getting vaccinated? What about LGBTQ immigrants, or older LGBTQ people? Unfortunately, we have little public health data with which to answer these questions.

By Alan Lessik | March 17, 2021

In a long year for our community since the beginning of COVID, we have experienced lockdowns, loneliness, fear, and grieving as we mourned our lack of connection and intimacy.


By Reese Aaron Isbell | March 10, 2021

As we recognize the anniversary of the first shutdown, I want to share with you an update on rental housing dynamics during Year I of the COVID-19 pandemic and where we are heading into Year II.

By M.D. Neu | March 3, 2021

Voting is a right and privilege that is a cornerstone of our democracy.


By David Broockman | February 24, 2021

Last month, I asked my representative on the Board of Supervisors, Dean Preston, to make it easier to build new housing in our city.

By Seth Brenzel | February 17, 2021

On February 9, the 25th anniversary of my first date with my husband, the San Francisco Board of Education considered my nomination to join the volunteer Parent Advisory Council.


By Brendalynn R. Goodall | February 10, 2021

When I was a little girl, there was no Black History Month.

By Leroy F. Moore Jr. | February 3, 2021

I had to create my mirror and now it is an international reflection as a Black disabled person.


By Derek Washington | January 20, 2021

To say I held my bated breath until it was clear that "Uncle Joe" had won would be the understatement of a century. Or two. Add in "Auntie" Kamala and my gay self has been in an election coma ever since.

By Evan Low | January 7, 2021

Thousands of Trump supporters swarmed the U.S. Capitol on Wednesday, January 6, to commit seditious acts that were motivated by ignorance and white supremacy, which obviously go hand in hand.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 763 Stories