Opinion » Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Time to correct SF rent ordinance's inequity

Guest Opinion: Time to correct SF rent ordinance's inequity

By Eric Lifschitz

The San Francisco Rent Ordinance (SFRO), enacted in 1979, is recognized for having arguably the strongest pro-tenant protections in the country.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 692 Stories

By Hank Trout | September 25, 2019

I have recently learned about a class action lawsuit instituted on behalf of people living with HIV who took one or more of Gilead's tenofovir disoproxil fumarate (TDF) drugs and then suffered kidney disease and/or bone density loss.

By Barbara Lee | September 18, 2019

We've made incredible progress in the fight against HIV and AIDS over the past several decades, but the fight is far from over.


By Nancy Tung | September 11, 2019

We see around us every day that what's happening on our streets isn't working.

By Suzy Loftus | September 11, 2019

We San Franciscans are blessed to live in a city that celebrates our rich diversity, where we find sanctuary with one another.


By Scott Wiener | September 11, 2019

Gay state Senator Scott Wiener makes the case for Kamala Harris for president.

By Leif Dautch | September 4, 2019

When it comes to homelessness, car break-ins, and police accountability, the San Francisco District Attorney's office has been part of the problem — I'm running to make it part of the solution.


By Chesa Boudin | September 4, 2019

When I was in diapers, my parents drove the getaway car in an armed robbery that tragically took three lives. My mother spent 22 years in prison.

By Joe Hollendoner, Rafael Mandelman, and Laura Thomas | September 4, 2019

Recent headlines scream that "Meth is back" but we know that methamphetamine never left the LGBTQ community, at least not here in San Francisco.


By Rabab Ibrahim Abdulhadi, Mary Salome, Kate Raphael, and Deeg Gold | August 28, 2019

On August 18, the Palestinian Authority Police Force issued a statement banning the activities of alQaws for Sexual and Gender Diversity in Palestinian Society and encouraging Palestinians to police, criminalize, and report on alQaws activities.

By Jeff Freitas | August 21, 2019

"My name is Jeff Freitas, I am an American Federation of Teachers vice president, the president of the California Federation of Teachers, and I am a gay teacher."


By Tom Brougham | August 14, 2019

This month marks the 40th anniversary of the "invention" of domestic partnerships policy. On August 21, 1979, I delivered two letters to my employer, the City of Berkeley.

By Edafe Okporo | August 7, 2019

What is the cost of inaction to me and the people I love? This is the question I ask myself each time I find myself with a bullhorn and a group of people marching and protesting for change.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 692 Stories