Opinion » Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: SF Pride looks to 50th celebration

Guest Opinion: SF Pride looks to 50th celebration

By Carolyn R. Wysinger

This year San Francisco Pride marches into its 50th year.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 701 Stories

By Gavin Newsom | December 13, 2019

There's no state in America quite like California. In troubled times for the nation, California is where the American Dream is alive and well.

By Kenneth G. Hodder | December 4, 2019

I love my family. I'd do anything for them. So it breaks my heart to know that literally thousands of them are living on the street.


By Gray Gautereaux | November 26, 2019

During his 2019 State of the Union address President Donald Trump revealed his administration's new 10-year plan to "end the HIV epidemic in America" (https://www.hrsa.gov/ending-hiv-epidemic), with a goal of reducing diagnosis rates to less than 3,000 pe

By Amaya Wooding, Lynn Chan, and B. Chen | November 20, 2019

Thursday is the Great American Smokeout. Depending on which research you believe, as many as one in three trans people uses tobacco.


By Delia Danae Rawdon | November 13, 2019

I was singled out by TSA for being a transgender woman and I am not the only one.

By Jordan Davis | November 6, 2019

When I read the article about the city awarding $1.15 million in contracts to two reputable nonprofits over the next two years, I was overjoyed, especially since the recipients, St. James Infirmary and Larkin Street Youth Services, are well qualified.


By Marc Stein | October 30, 2019

Halloween has long been one of the queerest of holidays, but on October 31, 1969, San Francisco LGBT activists found new ways to confront their terrifying fears of media misrepresentations and police violence.

By Rafael Mandelman | October 23, 2019

Earlier this year, our community rejoiced with the opening of the Marcy Adelman and Jeanette Gurevitch Community at 95 Laguna.


By Eric Lifschitz | October 2, 2019

The San Francisco Rent Ordinance (SFRO), enacted in 1979, is recognized for having arguably the strongest pro-tenant protections in the country.

By Hank Trout | September 25, 2019

I have recently learned about a class action lawsuit instituted on behalf of people living with HIV who took one or more of Gilead's tenofovir disoproxil fumarate (TDF) drugs and then suffered kidney disease and/or bone density loss.


By Barbara Lee | September 18, 2019

We've made incredible progress in the fight against HIV and AIDS over the past several decades, but the fight is far from over.

By Nancy Tung | September 11, 2019

We see around us every day that what's happening on our streets isn't working.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 701 Stories