Opinion » Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Dem party needs leaders who know hardship

Guest Opinion: Dem party needs leaders who know hardship

By Shaun Haines

To create a state Democratic Party that feels inclusive, new representatives in our leadership must illustrate that they understand the consequences of a party that does not include the voices and experiences of those who have known hardship.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 648 Stories

By Rebecca Isaacs | January 2, 2019

I spent my young adulthood in the Castro during the height of the AIDS epidemic. President Ronald Reagan was ignoring the plight of my friends, our community, and worse, he was engaging in fearmongering and bullying at a time when the nation needed unity

By Jim Mitulski | December 26, 2018

Last week in church, we sang a Christmas carol, familiar to some, about providing a warm and safe place for a refugee child displaced by government and rendered temporarily without a home.


By Karen Kai | December 19, 2018

A remarkable artwork reflecting Nelson Mandela's expression of hope is on public display at San Francisco's Grace Cathedral this month.

By Andrea Aiello | December 12, 2018

No matter what your spiritual beliefs, the holidays are a time of giving to those less fortunate.


By Fred Karger | December 5, 2018

Gay activist argues that singer Kristin Chenoweth should not perform with the Mormon Tabernacle Choir.

By Ace Robinson | November 28, 2018

Last week, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention released its HIV Surveillance Report. And, like every year in recent memory, the result told us what we already suspected.


By Edafe Okporo | November 20, 2018

President Donald Trump's administration reduced the number of refugees allowed into the country for 2019 to 30,000, a historic low, and placed a ban on the southern border processing of asylum claims, leading to more detention of migrants at the border.

By Matt Haney | November 14, 2018

Last week, I was honored to be elected as the next supervisor for District 6, representing the Tenderloin, South of Market, Mission Bay, South Beach, Rincon Hill, and Treasure Island.


By Erick Arguello | November 7, 2018

Galería de la Raza is an institution that is deeply rooted in the Mission district's identity of culture, art, resistance, and celebration.

By Clair Farley | October 31, 2018

Last week the New York Times exposed yet another attack by the Trump administration on transgender and gender-nonconforming (TGNC) Americans by calling for the Department of Health and Human Services to redefine sex for the purposes of Title IX.


By Bevan Dufty | September 26, 2018

At this point, everyone who lives, works, or visits San Francisco has become an expert on homelessness.

By by Katrina C. Rose | September 19, 2018

The remark Marshall McPeek, a gay meteorologist at a Sinclair-owned TV station in Ohio, made at this year's NLGJA conference is the here and now.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 648 Stories