Opinion

Guest Opinion: Why I oppose recall of DA Chesa Boudin

Guest Opinion: Why I oppose recall of DA Chesa Boudin

By Bevan Dufty

In just about seven weeks, Californians will head back to the polls to vote whether to recall Governor Gavin Newsom.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 1891 Stories

By BAR Editorial Board | July 21, 2021

It seems like some legislators in Sacramento do not realize or do not want to acknowledge the severity of the drug overdose crisis in cities like San Francisco, Oakland, and Los Angeles.

By BAR staff | July 21, 2021

This week's letter writers opine more on the rainbow flag in the Castro and Caitlyn Jenner's surprise trip to Australia.


By BAR Editorial Board | July 14, 2021

It was nearly a year ago that we editorialized in favor of raising a more inclusive Pride on the giant flagpole at Castro and Market streets.

By BAR staff | July 14, 2021

This week's letters sound off on the SF Gay Men's Chorus snafu and the Castro flagpole.


By BAR Editorial Board | July 7, 2021

The announcement by BART last week was indeed a hopeful sign that we're venturing out after a year of confinement.

By Ed Carter | July 7, 2021

The 117th Congress is the most diverse the United States has ever seen.


By BAR staff | July 7, 2021

Letters discuss the Progress Pride flag, the Castro flagpole, and the pink triangle.

By BAR Editorial Board | June 30, 2021

Earlier this year, gay state Senator Scott Wiener (D-San Francisco) introduced Senate Bill 379, which seeks to ensure that the University of California only contracts with medical facilities that allow the UC staff in to provide gender-affirming care.


By Isra Ahmad | June 30, 2021

Because "We the People" should select our representatives and not the other way around, the independent California Citizens Redistricting Commission, or CRC, was established in 2008 by citizen initiative.

By BAR staff | June 30, 2021

Longtime ally and labor union member Allan Baird thanks those who came out to acknowledge his work.


By James Coleman | June 25, 2021

This June, South San Francisco raised the Progress Pride flag.

By Andrew Kelly | June 24, 2021

Recently, the topic of kink- and fetish-related exhibits at Pride parades has become a flashpoint within the culture war


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 1891 Stories