Opinion

Editorial: Breed should get behind OD emergency

Editorial: Breed should get behind OD emergency

By BAR Editorial Board

San Francisco supervisors are likely to approve a resolution in the coming weeks urging Mayor London Breed to declare the city's overdose crisis a local emergency.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 1911 Stories

By Les K. Wright | September 15, 2021

When the COVID-19 shutdown began in the spring of 2020, I posted on Facebook that I expected the pandemic to be, for me, a pain in the ass, a royal pain in the ass.

By BAR staff | September 15, 2021

A reader offers his opinion on the Castro rainbow flag.


By BAR Editorial Board | September 8, 2021

It's not easy for a nonprofit board to reach the stunning conclusion that it must fire its leader "for cause," but that's what the board of the Human Rights Campaign and its Human Rights Campaign Foundation did late September 6.

By Annie Koruga | September 8, 2021

Homophobes don't belong in the Democratic Party.


By BAR staff | September 8, 2021

This week's letters offer opinions on the B.A.R.'s tobacco ads in the print edition, the rainbow flag flap, and support for the Alameda Democratic County Central Committee's new bylaw change.

By BAR Editorial Board | September 1, 2021

The Gloucester County School Board in Virginia may have wanted to stop trans students from using the restrooms that match their gender identity in its schools, but it turned out to be an expensive lesson.


By Gaynorann Siataga | September 1, 2021

Members of several Pacific Islander groups in San Francisco urge LGBTQs not to support the recall of school board Vice President Faauuga Moliga.

By BAR Editorial Board | August 25, 2021

A couple of weeks ago we editorialized against removing Governor Gavin Newsom from office.


By by Jeff Sheehy | August 25, 2021

Former San Francisco Supervisor Jeff Sheehy discusses controversy surrounding Gilbert Baker's rainbow flag in the Castro.

By BAR Editorial Board | August 18, 2021

Nearly 20 years ago, Oakland Congresswoman Barbara Lee (D) stood alone among her colleagues and voted against going to war in Afghanistan — she was the only member of the House and Senate to do so.


By by Jim Chappell | August 18, 2021

In 1977 I escaped from the Midwest and arrived in our gay haven, the Castro. Even though I was in my early 30s I did something a young person would never be able to do today ... buy a fixer in District 8.

By BAR staff | August 18, 2021

This week's letters weigh in on the California recall.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 1911 Stories