Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Sex in the time of COVID-19

Guest Opinion: Sex in the time of COVID-19

  • by Alan Lessik
  • Apr 29, 2020

Who could imagine that radical behavioral changes required due to the new coronavirus would make kissing dangerous and caressing forbidden?

Guest Opinion: LGBTQ leaders stand in solidarity

Guest Opinion: LGBTQ leaders stand in solidarity

  • by Daniel Redman
  • Apr 22, 2020

We, the undersigned, are members or allies of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer community in the city of San Francisco.

Guest Opinion: Out of anger, Gay Teachers forms

Guest Opinion: Out of anger, Gay Teachers forms

  • by Tom Ammiano
  • Apr 15, 2020

An exclusive excerpt from Tom Ammiano's memoir, "Kiss My Gay Ass: My trip down the Yellow Brick Road through activism, stand-up, and politics."

You can help support the Bay Area Reporter fundraising campaign

You can help support the Bay Area Reporter fundraising campaign

  • by Michael Yamashita
  • Apr 15, 2020

San Francisco is one of 11 US cities that is fortunate to have a legacy LGBT publication by us, for us, and about us. Help preserve the BAR as an historic and important community institution for the future.

Guest Opinion: Easter 2020: Now more than ever

Guest Opinion: Easter 2020: Now more than ever

  • by Jim Mitulski
  • Apr 8, 2020

This Sunday is Easter, typically the most joyous day of the church year for Christians.

Guest Opinion: Why the words social distancing are wrong

Guest Opinion: Why the words social distancing are wrong

  • by Jesus Guillen
  • Apr 1, 2020

From the first time I heard the words social distancing I felt a headache. I knew something was not right. But the words kept flowing down the river, and people kept accepting those 16 letters as the bible of reality.

Guest Opinion: Rent in the time of COVID-19

Guest Opinion: Rent in the time of COVID-19

  • by Reese Aaron Isbell
  • Mar 25, 2020

With rising rents, lack of affordable housing, and fear of eviction notices, it was already a challenge for many San Franciscans to afford to live here.

Guest Opinion: Help for small businesses

Guest Opinion: Help for small businesses

  • by Manny Yekutiel
  • Mar 18, 2020

San Francisco is in the midst of one of the most challenging times in recent memory.

Guest Opinion: COVID-19: It's time to help, here's how

Guest Opinion: COVID-19: It's time to help, here's how

  • by Joe D'Alessandro
  • Mar 9, 2020

The president and CEO of San Francisco Travel offers ideas for things to do in this time of coronavirus.

Guest Opinion: The I-Beam

Guest Opinion: The I-Beam

  • by Brooks Kolb
  • Mar 4, 2020

When I arrived in San Francisco, all the lights turned green, promising me freedom and gay liberation.

Guest Opinion: 2020 goals in Eureka Valley

Guest Opinion: 2020 goals in Eureka Valley

  • by Alex Lemberg
  • Feb 5, 2020

I am honored and privileged to have been elected as president for the next two years of the Eureka Valley Neighborhood Association, San Francisco's oldest neighborhood organization, dating back to 1881.

Guest Opinion: Dream big, fight hard — Warren for president

Guest Opinion: Dream big, fight hard — Warren for president

  • by Rafael Mandelman
  • Jan 29, 2020

In 2020, for the first time in recent memory, our California primary votes will matter.

Guest Opinion: A trans man's quest for happiness

Guest Opinion: A trans man's quest for happiness

  • by Ryan K. Sallans
  • Jan 15, 2020

Is there a point in a transition where one reaches pure happiness?

Guest Opinion: My father went to Guadalcanal; I went to Virginia

Guest Opinion: My father went to Guadalcanal; I went to Virginia

  • by Charlie Spiegel
  • Jan 8, 2020

I grew up with my father's World War II stories of fighting on what I later learned was one of the important island battles across the Pacific: Guadalcanal.