Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: On Jussie, hate crimes & the continuation of disbelief

Guest Opinion: On Jussie, hate crimes & the continuation of disbelief

  • by J Mase III
  • Feb 27, 2019

By the time this essay is published, I am not sure what the news cycle will be saying about "Empire" actor Jussie Smollett.

Guest Opinion: Resisting Trump in Congress

Guest Opinion: Resisting Trump in Congress

  • by Eric Swalwell
  • Feb 20, 2019

As we strive to protect America's progress toward LGBT equality against a rising tide of intolerance, that awful tide has ramifications around the world — and Chechnya is the latest example.

Guest Opinion: A Valentine's Day alternative

Guest Opinion: A Valentine's Day alternative

  • by David and Constantino Khalaf
  • Feb 13, 2019

Facebook recently reminded us of a screenshot we posted a couple of years ago, the day before our first Valentine's Day as a married couple.

Guest Opinion: Drugmaker must be held accountable for putting profits ahead of people

Guest Opinion: Drugmaker must be held accountable for putting profits ahead of people

  • by Ben Crump
  • Feb 6, 2019

It's bad enough that blacks are already more likely than whites to die from HIV/AIDS. But a drug company's scheme to put profits ahead of lives only compounds the anguish of targeted communities and amplifies cries for justice.

Guest Opinion: Challenging Christians on LGBTs

Guest Opinion: Challenging Christians on LGBTs

  • by Kim O'Reilly
  • Jan 30, 2019

I'm seeking to build bridges with my new book, "We Love You, But You're Going to Hell."

Guest Opinion: Here's how to mitigate trans rights rollback

Guest Opinion: Here's how to mitigate trans rights rollback

  • by Elizabeth L. Hillman and Chicora Martin
  • Jan 23, 2019

We believe that the denial of rights to transgender people, due to changes in federal law, can be mitigated. Here's how:

Guest Opinion: Support needed for LGBT refugees

Guest Opinion: Support needed for LGBT refugees

  • by Junior Mayema
  • Jan 16, 2019

Fleeing persecution from homophobic countries can be the most life-risking experience and the wisest decision at the same time.

Guest Opinion: Dem party needs leaders who know hardship

Guest Opinion: Dem party needs leaders who know hardship

  • by Shaun Haines
  • Jan 9, 2019

To create a state Democratic Party that feels inclusive, new representatives in our leadership must illustrate that they understand the consequences of a party that does not include the voices and experiences of those who have known hardship.

Guest Opinion: What's next for the LGBTQ movement

Guest Opinion: What's next for the LGBTQ movement

  • by Rebecca Isaacs
  • Jan 2, 2019

I spent my young adulthood in the Castro during the height of the AIDS epidemic. President Ronald Reagan was ignoring the plight of my friends, our community, and worse, he was engaging in fearmongering and bullying at a time when the nation needed unity

Guest Opinion: Don't forget immigrant kids

Guest Opinion: Don't forget immigrant kids

  • by Jim Mitulski
  • Dec 26, 2018

Last week in church, we sang a Christmas carol, familiar to some, about providing a warm and safe place for a refugee child displaced by government and rendered temporarily without a home.

Guest Opinion: Hope and gratitude

Guest Opinion: Hope and gratitude

  • by Karen Kai
  • Dec 19, 2018

A remarkable artwork reflecting Nelson Mandela's expression of hope is on public display at San Francisco's Grace Cathedral this month.

Guest Opinion: Help Castro's homeless during the holidays

Guest Opinion: Help Castro's homeless during the holidays

  • by Andrea Aiello
  • Dec 12, 2018

No matter what your spiritual beliefs, the holidays are a time of giving to those less fortunate.

Guest Opinion: Dear Ms. Chenoweth, don't sing with Mormon Tabernacle Choir

Guest Opinion: Dear Ms. Chenoweth, don't sing with Mormon Tabernacle Choir

  • by Fred Karger
  • Dec 5, 2018

Gay activist argues that singer Kristin Chenoweth should not perform with the Mormon Tabernacle Choir.

Guest Opinion: HIV response fails black GBTs

Guest Opinion: HIV response fails black GBTs

  • by Ace Robinson
  • Nov 28, 2018

Last week, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention released its HIV Surveillance Report. And, like every year in recent memory, the result told us what we already suspected.