Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: SOGI data needed in COVID pandemic

Guest Opinion: SOGI data needed in COVID pandemic

  • by Sean Cahill
  • Mar 24, 2021

Are Black LGBTQ people disproportionately vulnerable to COVID-19? Are they more hesitant about getting vaccinated? What about LGBTQ immigrants, or older LGBTQ people? Unfortunately, we have little public health data with which to answer these questions.

Guest Opinion: Vaccinated and horny: Now what?

Guest Opinion: Vaccinated and horny: Now what?

  • by Alan Lessik
  • Mar 17, 2021

In a long year for our community since the beginning of COVID, we have experienced lockdowns, loneliness, fear, and grieving as we mourned our lack of connection and intimacy.

Guest Opinion: And the rent goes on

Guest Opinion: And the rent goes on

  • by Reese Aaron Isbell
  • Mar 10, 2021

As we recognize the anniversary of the first shutdown, I want to share with you an update on rental housing dynamics during Year I of the COVID-19 pandemic and where we are heading into Year II.

Guest Opinion: Voting is the theme in these stories

Guest Opinion: Voting is the theme in these stories

  • by M.D. Neu
  • Mar 3, 2021

Voting is a right and privilege that is a cornerstone of our democracy.

Guest Opinion: Preston should listen to research, not insult researchers

Guest Opinion: Preston should listen to research, not insult researchers

  • by David Broockman
  • Feb 24, 2021

Last month, I asked my representative on the Board of Supervisors, Dean Preston, to make it easier to build new housing in our city.

Guest Opinion: SF school board must repair harm

Guest Opinion: SF school board must repair harm

  • by Seth Brenzel
  • Feb 17, 2021

On February 9, the 25th anniversary of my first date with my husband, the San Francisco Board of Education considered my nomination to join the volunteer Parent Advisory Council.

Guest Opinion: Why Black History Month matters

Guest Opinion: Why Black History Month matters

  • by Brendalynn R. Goodall
  • Feb 10, 2021

When I was a little girl, there was no Black History Month.

Guest Opinion: Who is that in the mirror? It's us and we look so beautiful with our disability

Guest Opinion: Who is that in the mirror? It's us and we look so beautiful with our disability

  • by Leroy F. Moore Jr.
  • Feb 3, 2021

I had to create my mirror and now it is an international reflection as a Black disabled person.

Guest Opinion: How I learned to stop worrying and love the vote

Guest Opinion: How I learned to stop worrying and love the vote

  • by Derek Washington
  • Jan 20, 2021

To say I held my bated breath until it was clear that "Uncle Joe" had won would be the understatement of a century. Or two. Add in "Auntie" Kamala and my gay self has been in an election coma ever since.

Guest Opinion: Trump's attempted coup requires a bold response — from all of us

Guest Opinion: Trump's attempted coup requires a bold response — from all of us

  • by Evan Low
  • Jan 7, 2021

Thousands of Trump supporters swarmed the U.S. Capitol on Wednesday, January 6, to commit seditious acts that were motivated by ignorance and white supremacy, which obviously go hand in hand.

Guest Opinion: Emergency depts: It's NOT normal now

Guest Opinion: Emergency depts: It's NOT normal now

  • by Nick Gorton
  • Jan 6, 2021

It is no secret that many hospital emergency departments are struggling.

Guest Opinion: We wasted our boom

Guest Opinion: We wasted our boom

  • by John Lisovsky
  • Dec 29, 2020

From 2010 to 2020, the world fĂȘted San Francisco. New startups, new graduates, new immigrants — all wanted to share in its glittering promise.

Guest Opinion: Healing is coming

Guest Opinion: Healing is coming

  • by Jim Mitulski
  • Dec 22, 2020

This is a good year for Christmas. We need the joy, the light, hope, the gifts, the promise, the peace. All of it.

Guest Opinion: LGBTQ seniors grapple with COVID

Guest Opinion: LGBTQ seniors grapple with COVID

  • by David Chiu
  • Dec 9, 2020

In 2015, my first year in the Legislature, working alongside Equality California, I introduced Assembly Bill 959, the LGBT Disparities Reduction Act.