Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: A case for lifting the veil on queer history

Guest Opinion: A case for lifting the veil on queer history

  • by Jerald Crook
  • Oct 21, 2020

I first encountered the Invisible Histories Project through its director of research and development Maigen Sullivan.

Guest Opinion: Mr. President: 'We dissent'

Guest Opinion: Mr. President: 'We dissent'

  • by Maureen Bogue and David Eugene Perry
  • Oct 14, 2020

On September 22, our nation took a giant step backward.

Guest Opinion: Queer API candidates endure vicious hostility

Guest Opinion: Queer API candidates endure vicious hostility

  • by by Michael Nguyen and Mike Chen
  • Oct 7, 2020

"Get back in the closet." "You are a disgrace." "Stop talking about your sexuality." "You should be disowned."

B.A.R. launches memberships

B.A.R. launches memberships

  • by Cynthia Laird
  • Sep 18, 2020

In a continuing effort to receive support from readers, the Bay Area Reporter has launched its membership program.

Guest Opinion: 6 questions to ask before having sex again

Guest Opinion: 6 questions to ask before having sex again

  • by Alan Lessik
  • Sep 2, 2020

If you were locked down over the last several months with your partner or partners, intimacy has likely been a key part of quarantine survival.

Guest Opinion: A call to queers working in IT

Guest Opinion: A call to queers working in IT

  • by Greg Rowe-Pasos
  • Aug 26, 2020

Thirty years ago while flying in a helicopter full of journalists to a news conference, I looked around me and suddenly knew beyond a shadow of a doubt I needed to leave my glossy magazine career to put all my awake time into helping save my community.

Guest Opinion: Marching farther together

Guest Opinion: Marching farther together

  • by Délara Shadfar
  • Aug 19, 2020

As a teenager starting to discover who I am, I'm also discovering the world and its problems.

Guest Opinion: For readers' sake, #savelocaljournalism

Guest Opinion: For readers' sake, #savelocaljournalism

  • by Charles F. Champion
  • Aug 17, 2020

A brand management and crisis communication professor I know at a leading university contends that brands reside in the minds of customers, not at company headquarters.

Guest Opinion: Castro Merchants encourages Pride symbols in addition to iconic rainbow flag

Guest Opinion: Castro Merchants encourages Pride symbols in addition to iconic rainbow flag

  • by by Masood Samereie
  • Aug 14, 2020

The Black Lives Matter movement has brought forward what could be considered one of the most important social discussions in a generation.

Guest Opinion: HHS copay rule threatens HIVers

Guest Opinion: HHS copay rule threatens HIVers

  • by by Tez Anderson
  • Aug 5, 2020

The survival of people dealing with life-threatening illnesses such as HIV/AIDS often depends on affordable access to prescription medications.

Guest Opinion: Supreme Court avoids another Dred Scott

Guest Opinion: Supreme Court avoids another Dred Scott

  • by Arlo Hale Smith
  • Jul 29, 2020

In its June 15, decision holding that Title VII of the Federal Civil Rights Act of 1964 prohibits discrimination against LGBT people, two conservative court members pulled the court away from from the brink of issuing another Dred Scott decision.

Guest Opinion: Serving under the radar during DADT

Guest Opinion: Serving under the radar during DADT

  • by Geri Spieler and Rick Kaplowitz
  • Jul 22, 2020

The United States is home to more than one million gay veterans, most of whom served under the radar.

Guest Opinion: Britt fought for progressive policies

Guest Opinion: Britt fought for progressive policies

  • by Gwenn Craig
  • Jul 15, 2020

I had known Harry Britt since 1977, when he was president of the Harvey Milk LGBTQ Democratic Club (then San Francisco Gay Democratic Club).

Guest Opinion: Imagining a future with COVID-19

Guest Opinion: Imagining a future with COVID-19

  • by Daralt
  • Jul 8, 2020

As a survivor of the AIDS crisis of the 1980s, I remember how our community was torn apart by the two camps that were formed around the practice of safe sex. Condoms or no condoms?