Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Why Black History Month matters

Guest Opinion: Why Black History Month matters

  • by Brendalynn R. Goodall
  • Feb 10, 2021

When I was a little girl, there was no Black History Month.

Guest Opinion: Who is that in the mirror? It's us and we look so beautiful with our disability

Guest Opinion: Who is that in the mirror? It's us and we look so beautiful with our disability

  • by Leroy F. Moore Jr.
  • Feb 3, 2021

I had to create my mirror and now it is an international reflection as a Black disabled person.

Guest Opinion: How I learned to stop worrying and love the vote

Guest Opinion: How I learned to stop worrying and love the vote

  • by Derek Washington
  • Jan 20, 2021

To say I held my bated breath until it was clear that "Uncle Joe" had won would be the understatement of a century. Or two. Add in "Auntie" Kamala and my gay self has been in an election coma ever since.

Guest Opinion: Trump's attempted coup requires a bold response — from all of us

Guest Opinion: Trump's attempted coup requires a bold response — from all of us

  • by Evan Low
  • Jan 7, 2021

Thousands of Trump supporters swarmed the U.S. Capitol on Wednesday, January 6, to commit seditious acts that were motivated by ignorance and white supremacy, which obviously go hand in hand.

Guest Opinion: Emergency depts: It's NOT normal now

Guest Opinion: Emergency depts: It's NOT normal now

  • by Nick Gorton
  • Jan 6, 2021

It is no secret that many hospital emergency departments are struggling.

Guest Opinion: We wasted our boom

Guest Opinion: We wasted our boom

  • by John Lisovsky
  • Dec 29, 2020

From 2010 to 2020, the world fĂȘted San Francisco. New startups, new graduates, new immigrants — all wanted to share in its glittering promise.

Guest Opinion: Healing is coming

Guest Opinion: Healing is coming

  • by Jim Mitulski
  • Dec 22, 2020

This is a good year for Christmas. We need the joy, the light, hope, the gifts, the promise, the peace. All of it.

Guest Opinion: LGBTQ seniors grapple with COVID

Guest Opinion: LGBTQ seniors grapple with COVID

  • by David Chiu
  • Dec 9, 2020

In 2015, my first year in the Legislature, working alongside Equality California, I introduced Assembly Bill 959, the LGBT Disparities Reduction Act.

Guest Opinion: Almost 40 years later, still no AIDS cure in sight

Guest Opinion: Almost 40 years later, still no AIDS cure in sight

  • by James May
  • Dec 1, 2020

As we observe another World AIDS Day December 1, I wish I could believe a cure was in sight but unfortunately I cannot.

Guest Opinion: From one pandemic to another

Guest Opinion: From one pandemic to another

  • by Mike Smith
  • Nov 24, 2020

For the first World AIDS Day on December 1, 1988 the World Health Organization gave a small grant to the fledgling Names Project (its AIDS Memorial Quilt being then a little more than a year old).

Guest Opinion: TV news networks fail the trans community

Guest Opinion: TV news networks fail the trans community

  • by Alex Paterson
  • Nov 18, 2020

Marilyn Monroe Cazares was a 22-year-old transgender Latina who "courageously lived her truth" in Brawley, California.

Guest Opinion: The 1st test of LGBTQ+ rights on Barrett court

Guest Opinion: The 1st test of LGBTQ+ rights on Barrett court

  • by Michael Vargas
  • Nov 11, 2020

For at least the past 15 years, the U.S. Supreme Court has had a 5-4 conservative majority.

Guest Opinion: 'Gay rights' have failed — time for tough conversations

Guest Opinion: 'Gay rights' have failed — time for tough conversations

  • by Andrew Kelly
  • Nov 4, 2020

After realizing I was gay in the waning years of the Obama era, it always seemed as if there were two dueling factions in the fight to ensure equality for people like me.

Guest Opinion: Landmark the Lyon-Martin house

Guest Opinion: Landmark the Lyon-Martin house

  • by Shayne Watson
  • Oct 28, 2020

"Shayne, Phyllis Lyon is on line 2."