Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: The SF assessor's office is working for you

Guest Opinion: The SF assessor's office is working for you

  • by Joaquín Torres
  • Jun 1, 2022

In February 2022, I was elected as your assessor-recorder and I am honored to represent and serve you.

Guest Opinion: Hope of deliverance

Guest Opinion: Hope of deliverance

  • by Paulina Angel
  • Apr 13, 2022

Looking back at the last two years, it feels like an eternity.

Guest Opinion: Addressing discrepancy in care: CA's TGI Inclusive Care Act

Guest Opinion: Addressing discrepancy in care: CA's TGI Inclusive Care Act

  • by Pau Crego and JM Jaffe
  • Mar 30, 2022

Last month, gay state Senator Scott Wiener (D-San Francisco) introduced Senate Bill 293, the TGI Inclusive Care Act.

Guest Opinion: Milk plaza plan has broad support

Guest Opinion: Milk plaza plan has broad support

  • by Alex Lemberg
  • Mar 23, 2022

The long-awaited reimagining of Harvey Milk Plaza and the Castro Muni Station have broad public support in the neighborhood.

Guest Opinion: Why I'm running for Congress

Guest Opinion: Why I'm running for Congress

  • by Derek Marshall
  • Mar 16, 2022

I didn't come out as gay until my late 20s. I feared that if I showed my true identity, I would be judged, rejected, or discriminated against.

Guest Opinion: Why the queer community came out for the SF school board recall

Guest Opinion: Why the queer community came out for the SF school board recall

  • by David "Gaybraham Lincoln" Thompson
  • Mar 2, 2022

The recall of San Francisco school board President Gabriela López and Commissioners Faauuga Moliga and Alison Collins united the entire city in demanding competent leaders for our children, and it would not have happened without the LGBTQIA community.

Guest Opinion: SFUSD management seeks to fire beloved queer mentor and math teacher

Guest Opinion: SFUSD management seeks to fire beloved queer mentor and math teacher

  • by John Lisovsky
  • Feb 18, 2022

The national teacher shortage has not spared San Francisco, which is seeing extreme difficulty filling teaching positions.

Guest Opinion: Celebrating a name change? Protect your financial future

Guest Opinion: Celebrating a name change? Protect your financial future

  • by Eric J. Ellman
  • Feb 16, 2022

If you're transitioning into your true gender identity, legally changing your name marks an important milestone in becoming your authentic self.

Guest Opinion: Addicted to supremacy

Guest Opinion: Addicted to supremacy

  • by Dwayne Ratleff
  • Feb 2, 2022

After returning home and putting the food away, our mother instructed [my sister and I] to change out of our play clothes and into our school clothes.

Guest Opinion: The price of banking

Guest Opinion: The price of banking

  • by Charlie Hunts
  • Jan 26, 2022

What if using a credit card meant being deadnamed every time that you pulled it out. Due to defunct security practices at traditional banks, for most of the trans community that's reality.

Guest Opinion: 'Know Our Place:' The wrong subtext for the Transgender District

Guest Opinion: 'Know Our Place:' The wrong subtext for the Transgender District

  • by Adriana Roberts
  • Jan 19, 2022

As a 30-year resident of San Francisco — who is also a transgender woman — I was elated when I first saw, in 2017, that the city had designated an official and legally-recognized Transgender District, centered at Turk and Taylor streets.

Guest Opinion: For MLK Day, fight for voting rights

Guest Opinion: For MLK Day, fight for voting rights

  • by David J. Johns
  • Jan 12, 2022

The executive director of the National Black Justice Coalition calls for action to honor the Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.'s birthday.

Guest Opinion: Smoking imperils health of LGBTQ+ BIPOC community

Guest Opinion: Smoking imperils health of LGBTQ+ BIPOC community

  • by Ryan Oda
  • Jan 5, 2022

While smoking rates have declined nationally in the past 20 years, this reduction has not been shared equally among Black, Indigenous, and people of color communities or the LGBTQ+ community — and especially among those with intersecting identities.

Guest Opinion: Matt Haney, progressive champion for Assembly

Guest Opinion: Matt Haney, progressive champion for Assembly

  • by Honey Mahogany and Race Bannon
  • Dec 22, 2021

If you follow San Francisco politics, you know Matt Haney.