Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Trump's Title X gag rule is detrimental to HIV/AIDS health care

Guest Opinion: Trump's Title X gag rule is detrimental to HIV/AIDS health care

  • by Gray Gautereaux
  • Nov 26, 2019

During his 2019 State of the Union address President Donald Trump revealed his administration's new 10-year plan to "end the HIV epidemic in America" (https://www.hrsa.gov/ending-hiv-epidemic), with a goal of reducing diagnosis rates to less than 3,000 pe

Guest Opinion: On smokeout day, trans folks need a world worth quitting for

Guest Opinion: On smokeout day, trans folks need a world worth quitting for

  • by Amaya Wooding, Lynn Chan, and B. Chen
  • Nov 20, 2019

Thursday is the Great American Smokeout. Depending on which research you believe, as many as one in three trans people uses tobacco.

Guest Opinion: Traveling while trans

Guest Opinion: Traveling while trans

  • by Delia Danae Rawdon
  • Nov 13, 2019

I was singled out by TSA for being a transgender woman and I am not the only one.

Guest Opinion: SROs shouldn't be permanent housing

Guest Opinion: SROs shouldn't be permanent housing

  • by Jordan Davis
  • Nov 6, 2019

When I read the article about the city awarding $1.15 million in contracts to two reputable nonprofits over the next two years, I was overjoyed, especially since the recipients, St. James Infirmary and Larkin Street Youth Services, are well qualified.

Guest Opinion: Recalling Purple Hands protests of 1969

Guest Opinion: Recalling Purple Hands protests of 1969

  • by Marc Stein
  • Oct 30, 2019

Halloween has long been one of the queerest of holidays, but on October 31, 1969, San Francisco LGBT activists found new ways to confront their terrifying fears of media misrepresentations and police violence.

Guest Opinion: Yes on Proposition A

Guest Opinion: Yes on Proposition A

  • by Rafael Mandelman
  • Oct 23, 2019

Earlier this year, our community rejoiced with the opening of the Marcy Adelman and Jeanette Gurevitch Community at 95 Laguna.

Guest Opinion: Time to correct SF rent ordinance's inequity

Guest Opinion: Time to correct SF rent ordinance's inequity

  • by Eric Lifschitz
  • Oct 2, 2019

The San Francisco Rent Ordinance (SFRO), enacted in 1979, is recognized for having arguably the strongest pro-tenant protections in the country.

Guest Opinion: Unsure whether I'll join Gilead lawsuit

Guest Opinion: Unsure whether I'll join Gilead lawsuit

  • by Hank Trout
  • Sep 25, 2019

I have recently learned about a class action lawsuit instituted on behalf of people living with HIV who took one or more of Gilead's tenofovir disoproxil fumarate (TDF) drugs and then suffered kidney disease and/or bone density loss.

Guest Opinion: Federal funds needed to end AIDS

Guest Opinion: Federal funds needed to end AIDS

  • by Barbara Lee
  • Sep 18, 2019

We've made incredible progress in the fight against HIV and AIDS over the past several decades, but the fight is far from over.

Guest Opinion: Fighting for LGBTQ equality — and safety

Guest Opinion: Fighting for LGBTQ equality — and safety

  • by Suzy Loftus
  • Sep 11, 2019

We San Franciscans are blessed to live in a city that celebrates our rich diversity, where we find sanctuary with one another.

Guest Opinion: Independence will protect vulnerable communities

Guest Opinion: Independence will protect vulnerable communities

  • by Nancy Tung
  • Sep 11, 2019

We see around us every day that what's happening on our streets isn't working.

Guest Opinion: Harris is the best choice for president

Guest Opinion: Harris is the best choice for president

  • by Scott Wiener
  • Sep 11, 2019

Gay state Senator Scott Wiener makes the case for Kamala Harris for president.

Guest Opinion: DA's office needs to be part of solution

Guest Opinion: DA's office needs to be part of solution

  • by Leif Dautch
  • Sep 4, 2019

When it comes to homelessness, car break-ins, and police accountability, the San Francisco District Attorney's office has been part of the problem — I'm running to make it part of the solution.

Guest Opinion: New approach needed for safety

Guest Opinion: New approach needed for safety

  • by Chesa Boudin
  • Sep 4, 2019

When I was in diapers, my parents drove the getaway car in an armed robbery that tragically took three lives. My mother spent 22 years in prison.