Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: New governor's council is state's latest step to stop hate

Guest Opinion: New governor's council is state's latest step to stop hate

  • by Joyce Newstat and Scott Wiener
  • Nov 22, 2022

Every year, at the beginning of Pride Month, we put on our parkas and wool caps and head up to Twin Peaks to light the incredible pink triangle installation.

Guest Opinion: Born and becoming

Guest Opinion: Born and becoming

  • by Dianna Anderson
  • Nov 16, 2022

[Growing up], I didn't feel connected to womanhood any more than I felt connected to the car my mom drove to ferry me to and from school while I played my genuinely terrible mix CDs for her.

Guest Opinion: Florida's ban on gender-affirming care is dangerous for us all

Guest Opinion: Florida's ban on gender-affirming care is dangerous for us all

  • by Kellan E. Baker
  • Nov 9, 2022

Our nation's political landscape is frightening, to say the least. Every day, I read new headlines about political extremists who are attacking the rights of LGBTQ+ people in school, at work, and in the doctor's office.

Guest Opinion: Vote yes on Prop L — SF's transportation future depends on it

Guest Opinion: Vote yes on Prop L — SF's transportation future depends on it

  • by by Rafael Mandelman
  • Nov 2, 2022

San Franciscans have a critical choice to make on the ballot this year, and it's one that I fear is not getting enough attention with everything else filling up our ballots.

Guest Opinion: Navigating coming out of the closet in the South

Guest Opinion: Navigating coming out of the closet in the South

  • by Kollyn Conrad
  • Oct 26, 2022

Growing up in the South as gay leaves one with the feeling of not merely being different, but undeserving of respect and, more recently, in danger.

Guest Opinion: In conversation with SFAF's Tyler TerMeer

Guest Opinion: In conversation with SFAF's Tyler TerMeer

  • by Cleve Jones
  • Oct 12, 2022

Cleve Jones, a co-founder of the San Francisco AIDS Foundation, interviewed the agency's current CEO, Tyler TerMeer, Ph.D., about the MPX outbreak, including the community's response and what it has learned from responding to AIDS.

Guest Opinion: On my knees for SF's Prop M

Guest Opinion: On my knees for SF's Prop M

  • by Victor H. Floyd
  • Sep 28, 2022

Thirty years ago, I tested positive for HIV. I could not imagine a secure future for myself as an out gay man in my hometown of Atlanta. I had to escape.

Guest Opinion: CA Senate Bill 951 matters to our community

Guest Opinion: CA Senate Bill 951 matters to our community

  • by by Mimi Demissew
  • Sep 14, 2022

California is a beautiful state, there's no question about it. As a state we lead the nation in many ways, from affordable access to education, legal protections for our most vulnerable, and employee-friendly policies.

Guest Opinion: Pridefest offers a new beginning in Oakland

Guest Opinion: Pridefest offers a new beginning in Oakland

  • by Sean Sullivan and Christie James
  • Sep 7, 2022

After years of working to create a safe space and build a sense of community in The Town, our town, we couldn't believe the words we were hearing about the spirit of Pride in Oakland — that "Pride was dead."

Guest Opinion: SF aging agency helps LGBTQ seniors

Guest Opinion: SF aging agency helps LGBTQ seniors

  • by Martha Knutzen
  • Aug 31, 2022

LGBTQ+ seniors, the San Francisco Department of Disability and Aging Services is here to serve you. Check us out.

Guest Opinion: It's time to expand the Youth Acceptance Project

Guest Opinion: It's time to expand the Youth Acceptance Project

  • by Jill Jacobs
  • Aug 24, 2022

All children deserve a family who loves them unconditionally. They deserve a place where they feel they belong and where they receive love and acceptance of who they are.

Guest Opinion: Tips for parents talking to college-age students about drugs

Guest Opinion: Tips for parents talking to college-age students about drugs

  • by Michael Leach
  • Aug 17, 2022

Beginning college or university means taking on more responsibility, making adult choices, and facing the consequences of some of these decisions.

Guest Opinion: Why drag queen story hour belongs in public libraries

Guest Opinion: Why drag queen story hour belongs in public libraries

  • by Cindy Chadwick
  • Aug 10, 2022

On June 11, San Lorenzo Library, part of the Alameda County (CA) Library system, hosted a Drag Queen Story Hour as part of the library's annual Pride Month programming.

Guest Opinion: I caught monkeypox

Guest Opinion: I caught monkeypox

  • by Kevin Stone
  • Aug 3, 2022

An internet friend, a Berlin artist, sent me a WhatsApp message in May: "Excited we'll finally meet. But a little worried for you — you've heard about this, right? Happening all over the venues I think you'll be interested in."