Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Graphic novelist shares his SF story

Guest Opinion: Graphic novelist shares his SF story

  • by Jonah Newman
  • Apr 3, 2024

I'm an author, illustrator, and editor who grew up in the Bay Area. My debut graphic novel "Out of Left Field," published by Andrews McMeel in March, is based on my experiences playing baseball as a gay kid in San Francisco.

Guest Opinion: Ready for resurrection

Guest Opinion: Ready for resurrection

  • by Jim Mitulski
  • Mar 27, 2024

I'm ready for resurrection: new life, meaningful life, new beginnings, and hope in place of despair, love that is stronger than death. And Easter is this week!

Guest Opinion: Family Equality CEO took many turns on their journey

Guest Opinion: Family Equality CEO took many turns on their journey

  • by Jaymes Black
  • Mar 20, 2024

I'm no stranger to taking the road less traveled. While today, I'm a proud parent, spouse, and leader of a major national LGBTQ+ organization, you might say I took the long way to get here.

Guest Opinion: Why I'm running for SF district attorney

Guest Opinion: Why I'm running for SF district attorney

  • by Ryan Khojasteh
  • Mar 13, 2024

I am frustrated and concerned with the direction we're heading in. From the many conversations I've had with my neighbors, the consensus is that people feel less safe today than they did a few years ago.

Guest Opinion: Lee is the choice for US Senate

Guest Opinion: Lee is the choice for US Senate

  • by Bevan Dufty and Carolyn Wysinger
  • Feb 21, 2024

As Bay Area LGBTQ elected officials, we are proud that both of San Francisco's LGBTQ Democratic clubs — Harvey Milk and Alice B. Toklas — have endorsed Congressmember Barbara Lee (D-Oakland) for the U.S. Senate.

Letters to the editor

Letters to the editor

  • by BAR staff
  • Jan 24, 2024

A reader weighs in on last week's story about a San Francisco educator.

Guest Opinion: Author writes of foster care system in new memoir

Guest Opinion: Author writes of foster care system in new memoir

  • by Mark Daley
  • Jan 17, 2024

A few nights earlier, I'd gone down a research rabbit hole. What began with one question — was there one singular risk factor that could forecast child abuse or neglect? — quickly budded into dozens more.

Guest Opinion: San Francisco needs more housing

Guest Opinion: San Francisco needs more housing

  • by Audrey Liu
  • Jan 10, 2024

In 2019, right after graduating from the University of Toronto, I came out to my parents as transgender.

Guest Opinion: Navigating gender transition in the workplace

Guest Opinion: Navigating gender transition in the workplace

  • by Wynne Nowland
  • Jan 3, 2024

As the CEO of a business, you are responsible for the company's performance as well as its image in the eyes of employees, clients, and the public.

Guest Opinion: Pope's directive represents progress

Guest Opinion: Pope's directive represents progress

  • by Jim Mitulski
  • Dec 20, 2023

This week something unprecedented happened at the Vatican's Dicastery for the Doctrine of the Faith. Pope Francis quietly, yet unmistakably, shifted the rules regarding the honoring of LGBTQ relationships.

Guest Opinion: How legal attacks on LGBTQ+ rights affect mental health

Guest Opinion: How legal attacks on LGBTQ+ rights affect mental health

  • by Tate Barkley
  • Dec 6, 2023

While significant strides have been made over the last two decades in recognizing and protecting the rights of the LGBTQ+ community, challenges persist.

Guest Opinion: 5 great ways to create positive change in your community

Guest Opinion: 5 great ways to create positive change in your community

  • by Ed Carter
  • Nov 21, 2023

Few things are more rewarding than standing up for a cause you believe in, especially when it is of importance in your local community.

Guest Opinion: Telling our stories as an act of resistance

Guest Opinion: Telling our stories as an act of resistance

  • by Miles Borrero
  • Nov 15, 2023

In 1999, before I even knew I was trans, I sat in a dark movie theater watching "Boys Don't Cry."

Guest Opinion: Let the queerest generation vote

Guest Opinion: Let the queerest generation vote

  • by Ewan Barker Plummer
  • Nov 8, 2023

Growing up in San Francisco as a queer teen, I know how important the work of LGBTQ+ community leaders has been in creating a more accepting city.