Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Guaranteed income is a queer justice issue

Guest Opinion: Guaranteed income is a queer justice issue

  • by Maria Hadden and Brian C. Johnson
  • Nov 10, 2021

We haven't seen economic inequality this bad in nearly a century.

Guest Opinion: Support the Castro cultural district — and local businesses

Guest Opinion: Support the Castro cultural district — and local businesses

  • by Melissa Newton and Alejandra Gomez
  • Nov 3, 2021

The Castro district has been a safe space and hotspot for the queer community, expression, and tourism for many decades.

Guest Opinion: Beauty, complexity shape Asian and Pacific Islander LGBTQ experiences

Guest Opinion: Beauty, complexity shape Asian and Pacific Islander LGBTQ experiences

  • by Rachel K. Cheng
  • Oct 27, 2021

The joy of LGBTQ History Month is the opportunity to share the unique and diverse hxstories and experiences of Asian and Pacific Islander LGBTQ individuals and communities.

Guest Opinion: Our history won't be silenced

Guest Opinion: Our history won't be silenced

  • by Greg Razer
  • Oct 20, 2021

While often diminished and constantly overlooked, our LGBTQ history is rich with significant events, especially throughout the 20th century.

Guest Opinion: Discovering 50 years of queer history in Silicon Valley

Guest Opinion: Discovering 50 years of queer history in Silicon Valley

  • by Ken Yeager
  • Oct 13, 2021

To visitors of all ages, sexualities, and identities, the one comment I hear the most when I'm a docent at the new South Bay queer museum exhibit is, "I didn't know any of this."

Guest Opinion: Fighting for our community

Guest Opinion: Fighting for our community

  • by Scott Wiener
  • Oct 13, 2021

Gay state Senator Scott Wiener writes about the highs and lows for LGBTQs of the just-completed legislative session.

Guest Opinion: Democratic leadership is good for San Francisco

Guest Opinion: Democratic leadership is good for San Francisco

  • by Faauuga Moliga
  • Oct 6, 2021

In San Francisco those of us who are Democrats dominate politics in the city.

Guest Opinion: Trumpism versus California

Guest Opinion: Trumpism versus California

  • by David Chiu
  • Sep 29, 2021

Despite former President Donald Trump's reelection defeat last year, in recent times, we have seen the manifestation of Trumpism as his political allies across the country continue to target our democratic institutions and our most vulnerable.

Guest Opinion: Every day is a celebration in Leather & LGBTQ Cultural District

Guest Opinion: Every day is a celebration in Leather & LGBTQ Cultural District

  • by Bob Goldfarb
  • Sep 22, 2021

The Leather & LGBTQ Cultural District, created by the San Francisco Board of Supervisors in 2018, is 22 city blocks in the South of Market neighborhood that have been home to numerous leather and kink venues since the 1960s.

Guest Opinion: Susan Sontag and me: Epidemics I have lived through

Guest Opinion: Susan Sontag and me: Epidemics I have lived through

  • by Les K. Wright
  • Sep 15, 2021

When the COVID-19 shutdown began in the spring of 2020, I posted on Facebook that I expected the pandemic to be, for me, a pain in the ass, a royal pain in the ass.

Guest Opinion: Alameda County Dems have a tool against homophobia

Guest Opinion: Alameda County Dems have a tool against homophobia

  • by Annie Koruga
  • Sep 8, 2021

Homophobes don't belong in the Democratic Party.

Letters to the editor

Letters to the editor

  • by BAR staff
  • Sep 8, 2021

This week's letters offer opinions on the B.A.R.'s tobacco ads in the print edition, the rainbow flag flap, and support for the Alameda Democratic County Central Committee's new bylaw change.

Guest Opinion: Pacific Islanders say no to recall of Faauuga Moliga

Guest Opinion: Pacific Islanders say no to recall of Faauuga Moliga

  • by Gaynorann Siataga
  • Sep 1, 2021

Members of several Pacific Islander groups in San Francisco urge LGBTQs not to support the recall of school board Vice President Faauuga Moliga.

Guest Opinion: Two issues observed in Castro flag fight

Guest Opinion: Two issues observed in Castro flag fight

  • by by Jeff Sheehy
  • Aug 25, 2021

Former San Francisco Supervisor Jeff Sheehy discusses controversy surrounding Gilbert Baker's rainbow flag in the Castro.