Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Stop signing up for ageism

Guest Opinion: Stop signing up for ageism

  • by Karyn Skultety
  • May 26, 2021

As I prepare for my last day as the executive director of Openhouse on May 31, I am left speechless by the honor it has been to do this job.

Guest Opinion: GAPA takes inclusive stance with new name

Guest Opinion: GAPA takes inclusive stance with new name

  • by Michael Trung Nguyen
  • May 19, 2021

GAPA was founded in 1988 by a group of gay and bi Asian and Pacific Islander men who had been meeting as a rap group at the Pacific Center for Human Growth in Berkeley.

Guest Opinion: My coming out day

Guest Opinion: My coming out day

  • by Stephanie Battaglino
  • May 12, 2021

So there I was. Standing all by myself in the middle of this fairly large and open lobby in a building that had about a thousand people in it — and no one was around.

Guest Opinion: Guadalajara's quest for the Gay Games

Guest Opinion: Guadalajara's quest for the Gay Games

  • by Gustavo Staufert
  • May 5, 2021

As a proud Guadalajara native, or Tapatío as we refer to ourselves locally, I spend my days waxing poetic about all our beautiful city has to offer visitors.

Guest Opinion: It's time to honor this landmark of lesbian history

Guest Opinion: It's time to honor this landmark of lesbian history

  • by Christina Morris
  • Apr 23, 2021

On a hilly residential street in Noe Valley, the small house at 651 Duncan Street gives no hint of its outsized role in influencing over 50 years of LGBTQIA+ civil rights.

Guest Opinion: Substance use an issue among LGBTQs

Guest Opinion: Substance use an issue among LGBTQs

  • by M.K. Leach
  • Apr 14, 2021

COVID-19 has impacted California in many ways, from causing increased job loss to deaths to forcing the closure of countless businesses to increased substance use within many demographics.

Guest Opinion: Investing in behavioral health for all

Guest Opinion: Investing in behavioral health for all

  • by David Chiu
  • Apr 7, 2021

At just past the one-year mark of COVID-19, we have seen the devastating consequences of the pandemic in every aspect of society.

Guest Opinion: A front row seat to LGBT news

Guest Opinion: A front row seat to LGBT news

  • by Thomas E. Horn
  • Mar 31, 2021

For 50 years the Bay Area Reporter has chronicled the development of the LGBT movement in San Francisco.

Guest Opinion: SOGI data needed in COVID pandemic

Guest Opinion: SOGI data needed in COVID pandemic

  • by Sean Cahill
  • Mar 24, 2021

Are Black LGBTQ people disproportionately vulnerable to COVID-19? Are they more hesitant about getting vaccinated? What about LGBTQ immigrants, or older LGBTQ people? Unfortunately, we have little public health data with which to answer these questions.

Guest Opinion: Vaccinated and horny: Now what?

Guest Opinion: Vaccinated and horny: Now what?

  • by Alan Lessik
  • Mar 17, 2021

In a long year for our community since the beginning of COVID, we have experienced lockdowns, loneliness, fear, and grieving as we mourned our lack of connection and intimacy.

Guest Opinion: And the rent goes on

Guest Opinion: And the rent goes on

  • by Reese Aaron Isbell
  • Mar 10, 2021

As we recognize the anniversary of the first shutdown, I want to share with you an update on rental housing dynamics during Year I of the COVID-19 pandemic and where we are heading into Year II.

Guest Opinion: Voting is the theme in these stories

Guest Opinion: Voting is the theme in these stories

  • by M.D. Neu
  • Mar 3, 2021

Voting is a right and privilege that is a cornerstone of our democracy.

Guest Opinion: Preston should listen to research, not insult researchers

Guest Opinion: Preston should listen to research, not insult researchers

  • by David Broockman
  • Feb 24, 2021

Last month, I asked my representative on the Board of Supervisors, Dean Preston, to make it easier to build new housing in our city.

Guest Opinion: SF school board must repair harm

Guest Opinion: SF school board must repair harm

  • by Seth Brenzel
  • Feb 17, 2021

On February 9, the 25th anniversary of my first date with my husband, the San Francisco Board of Education considered my nomination to join the volunteer Parent Advisory Council.