Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: SF aging agency helps LGBTQ seniors

Guest Opinion: SF aging agency helps LGBTQ seniors

  • by Martha Knutzen
  • Aug 31, 2022

LGBTQ+ seniors, the San Francisco Department of Disability and Aging Services is here to serve you. Check us out.

Guest Opinion: It's time to expand the Youth Acceptance Project

Guest Opinion: It's time to expand the Youth Acceptance Project

  • by Jill Jacobs
  • Aug 24, 2022

All children deserve a family who loves them unconditionally. They deserve a place where they feel they belong and where they receive love and acceptance of who they are.

Guest Opinion: Tips for parents talking to college-age students about drugs

Guest Opinion: Tips for parents talking to college-age students about drugs

  • by Michael Leach
  • Aug 17, 2022

Beginning college or university means taking on more responsibility, making adult choices, and facing the consequences of some of these decisions.

Guest Opinion: Why drag queen story hour belongs in public libraries

Guest Opinion: Why drag queen story hour belongs in public libraries

  • by Cindy Chadwick
  • Aug 10, 2022

On June 11, San Lorenzo Library, part of the Alameda County (CA) Library system, hosted a Drag Queen Story Hour as part of the library's annual Pride Month programming.

Guest Opinion: I caught monkeypox

Guest Opinion: I caught monkeypox

  • by Kevin Stone
  • Aug 3, 2022

An internet friend, a Berlin artist, sent me a WhatsApp message in May: "Excited we'll finally meet. But a little worried for you — you've heard about this, right? Happening all over the venues I think you'll be interested in."

Guest Opinion: Fair's return a welcome relief

Guest Opinion: Fair's return a welcome relief

  • by Bob Goldfarb
  • Jul 27, 2022

Up Your Alley fair, aka Dore Alley, is back in its full-strength version this weekend!

Guest Opinion: Fitting in is not belonging

Guest Opinion: Fitting in is not belonging

  • by Loren Olson
  • Jul 20, 2022

The sign that welcomed visitors to Wakefield, Nebraska said Pop. 1,030. The town's size didn't vary in all the years I lived there. It was a close-knit community linked by culture, economy, religion, and blood.

Guest Opinion: Let's not forget about LGBTQ immigrants in ICE detention

Guest Opinion: Let's not forget about LGBTQ immigrants in ICE detention

  • by Salesh Prasad
  • Jul 13, 2022

There's a suffocating bleakness to Immigration and Customs Enforcement, or ICE, detention. We are locked inside 20 hours a day.

Guest Opinion: Reflections on the AIDS quilt

Guest Opinion: Reflections on the AIDS quilt

  • by Bill Hirsh
  • Jul 6, 2022

Last month I was able to get to Golden Gate Park for the largest display of the AIDS Memorial Quilt ever in San Francisco.

Guest Opinion: Liberal status quo brought us to this moment

Guest Opinion: Liberal status quo brought us to this moment

  • by Andrew Kelly
  • Jun 29, 2022

Without a doubt, the Dobbs v. Jackson Women's Health Organization ruling overturning Roe v. Wade's right to abortion will go down as one of the most egregious abuses of judicial authority in our country's history.

Guest Opinion: Beyond the bubble: Pride in Israel from the North to the South

Guest Opinion: Beyond the bubble: Pride in Israel from the North to the South

  • by Matan Zamir
  • Jun 22, 2022

Located at the eastern edge of the Mediterranean Sea, Israel is internationally recognized as the LGBTQ+ capital of the Middle East.

Guest Opinion: LGBTQs ready for smoke-free bar patios this Pride

Guest Opinion: LGBTQs ready for smoke-free bar patios this Pride

  • by Amaya Wooding
  • Jun 22, 2022

It's Pride 2022, and we are back in the streets to celebrate in-person again!

Guest Opinion: Substance abuse, suicide on rise in CA

Guest Opinion: Substance abuse, suicide on rise in CA

  • by Marcel Gemme
  • Jun 15, 2022

Substance use disorder and suicide are on the rise in California.

Guest Opinion: With skyrocketing STI rates, LGBTQ+ Californians need a pathway to equitable health care

Guest Opinion: With skyrocketing STI rates, LGBTQ+ Californians need a pathway to equitable health care

  • by Tami Martin and Nomsa Khalfani
  • Jun 8, 2022

As COVID-19 cases are back on the rise, California and the U.S. continue to face another public health epidemic that is going in the wrong direction — sexually transmitted infections.