Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Why the words social distancing are wrong

Guest Opinion: Why the words social distancing are wrong

  • by Jesus Guillen
  • Apr 1, 2020

From the first time I heard the words social distancing I felt a headache. I knew something was not right. But the words kept flowing down the river, and people kept accepting those 16 letters as the bible of reality.

Guest Opinion: Rent in the time of COVID-19

Guest Opinion: Rent in the time of COVID-19

  • by Reese Aaron Isbell
  • Mar 25, 2020

With rising rents, lack of affordable housing, and fear of eviction notices, it was already a challenge for many San Franciscans to afford to live here.

Guest Opinion: Help for small businesses

Guest Opinion: Help for small businesses

  • by Manny Yekutiel
  • Mar 18, 2020

San Francisco is in the midst of one of the most challenging times in recent memory.

Guest Opinion: COVID-19: It's time to help, here's how

Guest Opinion: COVID-19: It's time to help, here's how

  • by Joe D'Alessandro
  • Mar 9, 2020

The president and CEO of San Francisco Travel offers ideas for things to do in this time of coronavirus.

Guest Opinion: The I-Beam

Guest Opinion: The I-Beam

  • by Brooks Kolb
  • Mar 4, 2020

When I arrived in San Francisco, all the lights turned green, promising me freedom and gay liberation.

Guest Opinion: 2020 goals in Eureka Valley

Guest Opinion: 2020 goals in Eureka Valley

  • by Alex Lemberg
  • Feb 5, 2020

I am honored and privileged to have been elected as president for the next two years of the Eureka Valley Neighborhood Association, San Francisco's oldest neighborhood organization, dating back to 1881.

Guest Opinion: Dream big, fight hard — Warren for president

Guest Opinion: Dream big, fight hard — Warren for president

  • by Rafael Mandelman
  • Jan 29, 2020

In 2020, for the first time in recent memory, our California primary votes will matter.

Guest Opinion: A trans man's quest for happiness

Guest Opinion: A trans man's quest for happiness

  • by Ryan K. Sallans
  • Jan 15, 2020

Is there a point in a transition where one reaches pure happiness?

Guest Opinion: My father went to Guadalcanal; I went to Virginia

Guest Opinion: My father went to Guadalcanal; I went to Virginia

  • by Charlie Spiegel
  • Jan 8, 2020

I grew up with my father's World War II stories of fighting on what I later learned was one of the important island battles across the Pacific: Guadalcanal.

Guest Opinion: Time to hold PG&E accountable

Guest Opinion: Time to hold PG&E accountable

  • by Scott Wiener
  • Dec 30, 2019

Millions of Californians demonstrated incredible fortitude and resolve this past fall when, in order to minimize its own wildfire liability risk — caused by decades of negligence and mismanagement — PG&E turned off the power for millions.

Guest Opinion: Be counted: Why LGBTQ+ data collection matters

Guest Opinion: Be counted: Why LGBTQ+ data collection matters

  • by Pau Crego and Clair Farley
  • Dec 23, 2019

In 2016, gay then-Supervisor Scott Wiener led the charge to require improved data collection on our local LGBTQ+ communities to measure equity and inclusion in city services.

Guest Opinion: On the record with Governor Newsom: One year of California for All

Guest Opinion: On the record with Governor Newsom: One year of California for All

  • by Gavin Newsom
  • Dec 18, 2019

There's no state in America quite like California. In troubled times for the nation, California is where the American Dream is alive and well.

Guest Opinion: SF Pride looks to 50th celebration

Guest Opinion: SF Pride looks to 50th celebration

  • by Carolyn R. Wysinger
  • Dec 11, 2019

This year San Francisco Pride marches into its 50th year.

Guest Opinion: To my family

Guest Opinion: To my family

  • by Kenneth G. Hodder
  • Dec 4, 2019

I love my family. I'd do anything for them. So it breaks my heart to know that literally thousands of them are living on the street.