Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Being out at Wells Fargo

Guest Opinion: Being out at Wells Fargo

  • by Matt Hurwitz
  • Jun 16, 2021

I came out to my family when I was 26 years old. Even though I was certain they'd be loving and supportive once they wrapped their heads around the news, for some reason, the idea of saying "I'm gay" was terrifying.

Guest Opinion: California vs. 34 other states: The fight to defend our transgender and gender-nonconforming community

Guest Opinion: California vs. 34 other states: The fight to defend our transgender and gender-nonconforming community

  • by David Chiu
  • Jun 9, 2021

This year, GOP-controlled states throughout our country have advanced an unprecedented number of discriminatory bills targeting our transgender and gender-nonconforming community, particularly TGNC young people.

Guest Opinion: You can be open about addiction

Guest Opinion: You can be open about addiction

  • by Fay Zenoff
  • Jun 9, 2021

What queer identity and addiction have in common is that one can choose to be closeted about both.

Guest Opinion: HIV/AIDS is not over

Guest Opinion: HIV/AIDS is not over

  • by Matt Sharp
  • Jun 2, 2021

Oaklawn, Dallas, 1984. Back then, I stopped into the Crossroads Market about once a week to pick up the latest issue of the New York Native, a gay political newsprint magazine where I could get the very latest information about AIDS.

Guest Opinion: 'One of the men who fought the war': Life as an AIDS casualty

Guest Opinion: 'One of the men who fought the war': Life as an AIDS casualty

  • by John-Manuel Andriote
  • Jun 2, 2021

Like every gay man paying attention at the time, I heard about the "new disease" afflicting gay men not long after it was first reported in 1981.

Guest Opinion: Stop signing up for ageism

Guest Opinion: Stop signing up for ageism

  • by Karyn Skultety
  • May 26, 2021

As I prepare for my last day as the executive director of Openhouse on May 31, I am left speechless by the honor it has been to do this job.

Guest Opinion: GAPA takes inclusive stance with new name

Guest Opinion: GAPA takes inclusive stance with new name

  • by Michael Trung Nguyen
  • May 19, 2021

GAPA was founded in 1988 by a group of gay and bi Asian and Pacific Islander men who had been meeting as a rap group at the Pacific Center for Human Growth in Berkeley.

Guest Opinion: My coming out day

Guest Opinion: My coming out day

  • by Stephanie Battaglino
  • May 12, 2021

So there I was. Standing all by myself in the middle of this fairly large and open lobby in a building that had about a thousand people in it — and no one was around.

Guest Opinion: Guadalajara's quest for the Gay Games

Guest Opinion: Guadalajara's quest for the Gay Games

  • by Gustavo Staufert
  • May 5, 2021

As a proud Guadalajara native, or Tapatío as we refer to ourselves locally, I spend my days waxing poetic about all our beautiful city has to offer visitors.

Guest Opinion: It's time to honor this landmark of lesbian history

Guest Opinion: It's time to honor this landmark of lesbian history

  • by Christina Morris
  • Apr 23, 2021

On a hilly residential street in Noe Valley, the small house at 651 Duncan Street gives no hint of its outsized role in influencing over 50 years of LGBTQIA+ civil rights.

Guest Opinion: Substance use an issue among LGBTQs

Guest Opinion: Substance use an issue among LGBTQs

  • by M.K. Leach
  • Apr 14, 2021

COVID-19 has impacted California in many ways, from causing increased job loss to deaths to forcing the closure of countless businesses to increased substance use within many demographics.

Guest Opinion: Investing in behavioral health for all

Guest Opinion: Investing in behavioral health for all

  • by David Chiu
  • Apr 7, 2021

At just past the one-year mark of COVID-19, we have seen the devastating consequences of the pandemic in every aspect of society.

Guest Opinion: A front row seat to LGBT news

Guest Opinion: A front row seat to LGBT news

  • by Thomas E. Horn
  • Mar 31, 2021

For 50 years the Bay Area Reporter has chronicled the development of the LGBT movement in San Francisco.

Guest Opinion: SOGI data needed in COVID pandemic

Guest Opinion: SOGI data needed in COVID pandemic

  • by Sean Cahill
  • Mar 24, 2021

Are Black LGBTQ people disproportionately vulnerable to COVID-19? Are they more hesitant about getting vaccinated? What about LGBTQ immigrants, or older LGBTQ people? Unfortunately, we have little public health data with which to answer these questions.