Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: It's time for a conversation on meth use in the LGBTQ community

Guest Opinion: It's time for a conversation on meth use in the LGBTQ community

  • by Joe Hollendoner, Rafael Mandelman, and Laura Thomas
  • Sep 4, 2019

Recent headlines scream that "Meth is back" but we know that methamphetamine never left the LGBTQ community, at least not here in San Francisco.

Guest Opinion: A call for solidarity with Palestinian queers

Guest Opinion: A call for solidarity with Palestinian queers

  • by Rabab Ibrahim Abdulhadi, Mary Salome, Kate Raphael, and Deeg Gold
  • Aug 28, 2019

On August 18, the Palestinian Authority Police Force issued a statement banning the activities of alQaws for Sexual and Gender Diversity in Palestinian Society and encouraging Palestinians to police, criminalize, and report on alQaws activities.

Guest Opinion: Teachers' unions on front line of equality fight

Guest Opinion: Teachers' unions on front line of equality fight

  • by Jeff Freitas
  • Aug 21, 2019

"My name is Jeff Freitas, I am an American Federation of Teachers vice president, the president of the California Federation of Teachers, and I am a gay teacher."

Guest Opinion: Domestic partnership policy turns 40

Guest Opinion: Domestic partnership policy turns 40

  • by Tom Brougham
  • Aug 14, 2019

This month marks the 40th anniversary of the "invention" of domestic partnerships policy. On August 21, 1979, I delivered two letters to my employer, the City of Berkeley.

Guest Opinion: Change takes time, but action is key

Guest Opinion: Change takes time, but action is key

  • by Edafe Okporo
  • Aug 7, 2019

What is the cost of inaction to me and the people I love? This is the question I ask myself each time I find myself with a bullhorn and a group of people marching and protesting for change.

SF Homeless Project: Guest Opinion: We have to raise the floor on housing

SF Homeless Project: Guest Opinion: We have to raise the floor on housing

  • by by Janetta Johnson
  • Jul 31, 2019

Everyday, my staff and I at TGI Justice Project work tirelessly to find a safe place to call home for our transgender, gender variant, and intersex community. It keeps me up at night. It should keep us all up at night.

Guest Opinion: Next steps for LGBTQ nonprofits

Guest Opinion: Next steps for LGBTQ nonprofits

  • by Leslie Ewing
  • Jul 24, 2019

Ever since I announced my retirement from Pacific Center, people have been asking, "What's next?"

Guest Opinion: Biz support needed beyond Pride Month

Guest Opinion: Biz support needed beyond Pride Month

  • by Ruth Borenstein
  • Jul 17, 2019

Another Pride, another year of people expressing frustration about the large corporate presence at the parade.

Guest Opinion: Jose Sarria's history is important

Guest Opinion: Jose Sarria's history is important

  • by Nathan Page
  • Jul 10, 2019

Jose Sarria has been called the "Rosa Parks of the gay rights movement" of the 1960s. His history is important and now there's an effort underway to induct him posthumously into the California Hall of Fame.

Guest Opinion: Awoke and fighting back

Guest Opinion: Awoke and fighting back

  • by Marc Huestis
  • Jul 2, 2019

Although I was firmly planting roots in San Francisco, I was also itching to see other parts of the world. I was in the prime of my life and I wanted new experiences, new faces, new surroundings.

Guest Opinion: The day I was told I didn't belong in society

Guest Opinion: The day I was told I didn't belong in society

  • by Ken Yeager
  • Jun 26, 2019

It was in early 1984 when I picked up the Sunday San Jose Mercury News and read an opinion piece by a local state Assembly member stating that homosexuals should have no legal, social, or political standing in society.

Guest Opinion: The Pride in shame

Guest Opinion: The Pride in shame

  • by James Brandon
  • Jun 19, 2019

Pride Month is here! And with it comes a monthlong excursion navigating coast-to-coast parades to celebrate community, self-affirmation, and a true gathering of family with every facet of the LGBTQ2+ prism.

Guest Opinion: Priest's rant led to book

Guest Opinion: Priest's rant led to book

  • by Perry N. Halkitis
  • Jun 12, 2019

I want to tell you why I wrote "Out in Time: From Stonewall to Queer, How Gay Men Came of Age Across the Generations."

Guest Opinion: LGBTQ solidarity in the age of Trump

Guest Opinion: LGBTQ solidarity in the age of Trump

  • by Jeff Cotter
  • Jun 5, 2019

Many people, regardless of their gender identity or sexual orientation, are surprised to hear that Cuba has a vigorous LGBTQ+ movement.