Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: From one pandemic to another

Guest Opinion: From one pandemic to another

  • by Mike Smith
  • Nov 24, 2020

For the first World AIDS Day on December 1, 1988 the World Health Organization gave a small grant to the fledgling Names Project (its AIDS Memorial Quilt being then a little more than a year old).

Guest Opinion: TV news networks fail the trans community

Guest Opinion: TV news networks fail the trans community

  • by Alex Paterson
  • Nov 18, 2020

Marilyn Monroe Cazares was a 22-year-old transgender Latina who "courageously lived her truth" in Brawley, California.

Guest Opinion: The 1st test of LGBTQ+ rights on Barrett court

Guest Opinion: The 1st test of LGBTQ+ rights on Barrett court

  • by Michael Vargas
  • Nov 11, 2020

For at least the past 15 years, the U.S. Supreme Court has had a 5-4 conservative majority.

Guest Opinion: 'Gay rights' have failed — time for tough conversations

Guest Opinion: 'Gay rights' have failed — time for tough conversations

  • by Andrew Kelly
  • Nov 4, 2020

After realizing I was gay in the waning years of the Obama era, it always seemed as if there were two dueling factions in the fight to ensure equality for people like me.

Guest Opinion: Landmark the Lyon-Martin house

Guest Opinion: Landmark the Lyon-Martin house

  • by Shayne Watson
  • Oct 28, 2020

"Shayne, Phyllis Lyon is on line 2."

Guest Opinion: A case for lifting the veil on queer history

Guest Opinion: A case for lifting the veil on queer history

  • by Jerald Crook
  • Oct 21, 2020

I first encountered the Invisible Histories Project through its director of research and development Maigen Sullivan.

Guest Opinion: Mr. President: 'We dissent'

Guest Opinion: Mr. President: 'We dissent'

  • by Maureen Bogue and David Eugene Perry
  • Oct 14, 2020

On September 22, our nation took a giant step backward.

Guest Opinion: Queer API candidates endure vicious hostility

Guest Opinion: Queer API candidates endure vicious hostility

  • by by Michael Nguyen and Mike Chen
  • Oct 7, 2020

"Get back in the closet." "You are a disgrace." "Stop talking about your sexuality." "You should be disowned."

B.A.R. launches memberships

B.A.R. launches memberships

  • by Cynthia Laird
  • Sep 18, 2020

In a continuing effort to receive support from readers, the Bay Area Reporter has launched its membership program.

Guest Opinion: 6 questions to ask before having sex again

Guest Opinion: 6 questions to ask before having sex again

  • by Alan Lessik
  • Sep 2, 2020

If you were locked down over the last several months with your partner or partners, intimacy has likely been a key part of quarantine survival.

Guest Opinion: A call to queers working in IT

Guest Opinion: A call to queers working in IT

  • by Greg Rowe-Pasos
  • Aug 26, 2020

Thirty years ago while flying in a helicopter full of journalists to a news conference, I looked around me and suddenly knew beyond a shadow of a doubt I needed to leave my glossy magazine career to put all my awake time into helping save my community.

Guest Opinion: Marching farther together

Guest Opinion: Marching farther together

  • by Délara Shadfar
  • Aug 19, 2020

As a teenager starting to discover who I am, I'm also discovering the world and its problems.

Guest Opinion: For readers' sake, #savelocaljournalism

Guest Opinion: For readers' sake, #savelocaljournalism

  • by Charles F. Champion
  • Aug 17, 2020

A brand management and crisis communication professor I know at a leading university contends that brands reside in the minds of customers, not at company headquarters.

Guest Opinion: Castro Merchants encourages Pride symbols in addition to iconic rainbow flag

Guest Opinion: Castro Merchants encourages Pride symbols in addition to iconic rainbow flag

  • by by Masood Samereie
  • Aug 14, 2020

The Black Lives Matter movement has brought forward what could be considered one of the most important social discussions in a generation.