Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: LGBTQ solidarity in the age of Trump

Guest Opinion: LGBTQ solidarity in the age of Trump

  • by Jeff Cotter
  • Jun 5, 2019

Many people, regardless of their gender identity or sexual orientation, are surprised to hear that Cuba has a vigorous LGBTQ+ movement.

Guest Opinion: Ellis for CA Dem chair

Guest Opinion: Ellis for CA Dem chair

  • by David Campos
  • May 29, 2019

In a few days all eyes will be on San Francisco. The California Democratic Party is coming to town.

Guest Opinion: Why the Pride flag still matters

Guest Opinion: Why the Pride flag still matters

  • by Shawn Kumagai
  • May 29, 2019

I requested at a recent Dublin City Council meeting that the rainbow flag be flown outside City Hall throughout June to honor Pride Month.

Guest Opinion: We need more HOMES now

Guest Opinion: We need more HOMES now

  • by Scott Wiener
  • May 22, 2019

Last week the chair of the Senate Appropriations Committee decided to unilaterally postpone my housing bill, Senate Bill 50 (the More HOMES Act) without holding a vote.

Guest Opinion: End may be near for 'alphabet soup'

Guest Opinion: End may be near for 'alphabet soup'

  • by Michael Colbruno
  • May 15, 2019

A spate of recent headlines must make one wonder if the "alphabet soup" movement that has led us to LGBTTIQQ2SA — lesbian, gay, bisexual, transsexual, transgender, intersex, queer, questioning, two spirit, and allies — has finally seen its day.

Guest Opinion: Why we still need Pride

Guest Opinion: Why we still need Pride

  • by Brian Rogers
  • May 8, 2019

Spring is here! Finally our dreary winter will give way to a beautiful display of the natural beauty in Sonoma County. For lifelong LGBT activists like myself, the longer days of spring also mean Pride season is approaching.

Guest Opinion: Coming out in prison

Guest Opinion: Coming out in prison

  • by Cole M. Bienek
  • May 1, 2019

I live in an environment where the expression of my sexuality is against the law. The California Medical Facility in Vacaville is enlightened enough to offer free condoms to inmates, yet the use of them to have sex is specifically prohibited.

Guest Opinion: Why I support Buttigieg for president

Guest Opinion: Why I support Buttigieg for president

  • by Kevin Dowling
  • Apr 24, 2019

I had heard of Pete Buttigieg before he started running for president in February.

Guest Opinion: We need a rent board member who can fight for us

Guest Opinion: We need a rent board member who can fight for us

  • by Deepa Varma and Tommi Avicolli Mecca
  • Apr 17, 2019

As tenant advocates, we fight every day to keep our neighbors and our communities here in the city. Our organizations counsel the vast majority of rent control tenants who seek help in San Francisco.

Guest Opinion: DNC to trans people: Drop dead

Guest Opinion: DNC to trans people: Drop dead

  • by Katrina C. Rose
  • Apr 17, 2019

Democratic National Committee Chair Tom Perez said the party chose Milwaukee, Wisconsin for its 2020 convention "because the city embodies who we are as a party."

Guest Opinion: I owe my life in SF to rent control

Guest Opinion: I owe my life in SF to rent control

  • by Reese Aaron Isbell
  • Apr 10, 2019

"Congratulations! Now, we need to talk to you about increasing your rent."

Guest Opinion: SF Travel always proud of our city

Guest Opinion: SF Travel always proud of our city

  • by Joe D'Alessandro
  • Apr 3, 2019

In December 2018, San Francisco dominated the Best of Gay Cities 2018 travel awards, taking home the gold for "Most Welcoming City" and winning honors for "Sustainable Dining," "Most Loved Bar" (440 Castro), and "Rainbow Crosswalk."

Guest Opinion: Happy survival day to Jimmy Carter

Guest Opinion: Happy survival day to Jimmy Carter

  • by John Bare
  • Mar 27, 2019

As of last week, Jimmy Carter was 94 years and 172 days old, making him the longest surviving president in U.S. history, surpassing George H.W. Bush, who died at the end of last year, and Gerald Ford before him.

Guest Opinion: Dire consequences for commercial surrogacy in the Trump era

Guest Opinion: Dire consequences for commercial surrogacy in the Trump era

  • by Evie P. Jeang
  • Mar 20, 2019

The future of commercial and international surrogacy is under threat by President Donald Trump's pledge to end birthright citizenship for children born to non-citizens and undocumented immigrants.