Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Awoke and fighting back

Guest Opinion: Awoke and fighting back

  • by Marc Huestis
  • Jul 2, 2019

Although I was firmly planting roots in San Francisco, I was also itching to see other parts of the world. I was in the prime of my life and I wanted new experiences, new faces, new surroundings.

Guest Opinion: The day I was told I didn't belong in society

Guest Opinion: The day I was told I didn't belong in society

  • by Ken Yeager
  • Jun 26, 2019

It was in early 1984 when I picked up the Sunday San Jose Mercury News and read an opinion piece by a local state Assembly member stating that homosexuals should have no legal, social, or political standing in society.

Guest Opinion: The Pride in shame

Guest Opinion: The Pride in shame

  • by James Brandon
  • Jun 19, 2019

Pride Month is here! And with it comes a monthlong excursion navigating coast-to-coast parades to celebrate community, self-affirmation, and a true gathering of family with every facet of the LGBTQ2+ prism.

Guest Opinion: Priest's rant led to book

Guest Opinion: Priest's rant led to book

  • by Perry N. Halkitis
  • Jun 12, 2019

I want to tell you why I wrote "Out in Time: From Stonewall to Queer, How Gay Men Came of Age Across the Generations."

Guest Opinion: LGBTQ solidarity in the age of Trump

Guest Opinion: LGBTQ solidarity in the age of Trump

  • by Jeff Cotter
  • Jun 5, 2019

Many people, regardless of their gender identity or sexual orientation, are surprised to hear that Cuba has a vigorous LGBTQ+ movement.

Guest Opinion: Ellis for CA Dem chair

Guest Opinion: Ellis for CA Dem chair

  • by David Campos
  • May 29, 2019

In a few days all eyes will be on San Francisco. The California Democratic Party is coming to town.

Guest Opinion: Why the Pride flag still matters

Guest Opinion: Why the Pride flag still matters

  • by Shawn Kumagai
  • May 29, 2019

I requested at a recent Dublin City Council meeting that the rainbow flag be flown outside City Hall throughout June to honor Pride Month.

Guest Opinion: We need more HOMES now

Guest Opinion: We need more HOMES now

  • by Scott Wiener
  • May 22, 2019

Last week the chair of the Senate Appropriations Committee decided to unilaterally postpone my housing bill, Senate Bill 50 (the More HOMES Act) without holding a vote.

Guest Opinion: End may be near for 'alphabet soup'

Guest Opinion: End may be near for 'alphabet soup'

  • by Michael Colbruno
  • May 15, 2019

A spate of recent headlines must make one wonder if the "alphabet soup" movement that has led us to LGBTTIQQ2SA — lesbian, gay, bisexual, transsexual, transgender, intersex, queer, questioning, two spirit, and allies — has finally seen its day.

Guest Opinion: Why we still need Pride

Guest Opinion: Why we still need Pride

  • by Brian Rogers
  • May 8, 2019

Spring is here! Finally our dreary winter will give way to a beautiful display of the natural beauty in Sonoma County. For lifelong LGBT activists like myself, the longer days of spring also mean Pride season is approaching.

Guest Opinion: Coming out in prison

Guest Opinion: Coming out in prison

  • by Cole M. Bienek
  • May 1, 2019

I live in an environment where the expression of my sexuality is against the law. The California Medical Facility in Vacaville is enlightened enough to offer free condoms to inmates, yet the use of them to have sex is specifically prohibited.

Guest Opinion: Why I support Buttigieg for president

Guest Opinion: Why I support Buttigieg for president

  • by Kevin Dowling
  • Apr 24, 2019

I had heard of Pete Buttigieg before he started running for president in February.

Guest Opinion: DNC to trans people: Drop dead

Guest Opinion: DNC to trans people: Drop dead

  • by Katrina C. Rose
  • Apr 17, 2019

Democratic National Committee Chair Tom Perez said the party chose Milwaukee, Wisconsin for its 2020 convention "because the city embodies who we are as a party."

Guest Opinion: We need a rent board member who can fight for us

Guest Opinion: We need a rent board member who can fight for us

  • by Deepa Varma and Tommi Avicolli Mecca
  • Apr 17, 2019

As tenant advocates, we fight every day to keep our neighbors and our communities here in the city. Our organizations counsel the vast majority of rent control tenants who seek help in San Francisco.