Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: HHS copay rule threatens HIVers

Guest Opinion: HHS copay rule threatens HIVers

  • by by Tez Anderson
  • Aug 5, 2020

The survival of people dealing with life-threatening illnesses such as HIV/AIDS often depends on affordable access to prescription medications.

Guest Opinion: Supreme Court avoids another Dred Scott

Guest Opinion: Supreme Court avoids another Dred Scott

  • by Arlo Hale Smith
  • Jul 29, 2020

In its June 15, decision holding that Title VII of the Federal Civil Rights Act of 1964 prohibits discrimination against LGBT people, two conservative court members pulled the court away from from the brink of issuing another Dred Scott decision.

Guest Opinion: Serving under the radar during DADT

Guest Opinion: Serving under the radar during DADT

  • by Geri Spieler and Rick Kaplowitz
  • Jul 22, 2020

The United States is home to more than one million gay veterans, most of whom served under the radar.

Guest Opinion: Britt fought for progressive policies

Guest Opinion: Britt fought for progressive policies

  • by Gwenn Craig
  • Jul 15, 2020

I had known Harry Britt since 1977, when he was president of the Harvey Milk LGBTQ Democratic Club (then San Francisco Gay Democratic Club).

Guest Opinion: Imagining a future with COVID-19

Guest Opinion: Imagining a future with COVID-19

  • by Daralt
  • Jul 8, 2020

As a survivor of the AIDS crisis of the 1980s, I remember how our community was torn apart by the two camps that were formed around the practice of safe sex. Condoms or no condoms?

Guest Opinion: Recalling Harry Britt and the AIDS vigil

Guest Opinion: Recalling Harry Britt and the AIDS vigil

  • by Ellen R. Shaffer
  • Jul 1, 2020

The 1980s were an increasingly awful decade in California.

Guest Opinion: Stonewall 51: Moving forward

Guest Opinion: Stonewall 51: Moving forward

  • by Julia Feliz and Z. Zane McNeill
  • Jun 24, 2020

A year on from Stonewall's 50th anniversary, we find ourselves in quite an odd time in history.

Guest Opinion: A chance to deepen Pride's rainbow

Guest Opinion: A chance to deepen Pride's rainbow

  • by Keith Highiet
  • Jun 17, 2020

Celebrating Pride this June is anything but what we'd envisioned for 2020.

Guest Opinion: Protests and lessons learned in the pursuit of justice

Guest Opinion: Protests and lessons learned in the pursuit of justice

  • by Kiki Monifa
  • Jun 10, 2020

First of all, I am talking about the peaceful protests. I live in Oakland, California and during 1967's Summer of Love it was our neighboring city of Berkeley that garnered the media attention for demonstrations and protests.

Guest Opinion: An anniversary unlike any other

Guest Opinion: An anniversary unlike any other

  • by Imani Rupert-Gordon
  • May 27, 2020

This year's Anniversary Celebration for the National Center for Lesbian Rights will be nothing like I imagined when I accepted the position as executive director in late 2019.

Guest Opinion: Castro needs safe sleeping village

Guest Opinion: Castro needs safe sleeping village

  • by Rafael Mandelman
  • May 20, 2020

Shelter in place, which has been so successful at flattening the curve and saving lives, has been a disaster for street conditions in San Francisco.

Guest Opinion: SF has a powerful urge to care

Guest Opinion: SF has a powerful urge to care

  • by Kaushik Roy
  • May 13, 2020

Given what has transpired in our nation over the last several years, it is hard to argue with what then-Senator Barack Obama asserted in 2006: that America indeed suffers from an "empathy deficit."

Guest Opinion: COVID-19 reminds us how AIDS made us resilient

Guest Opinion: COVID-19 reminds us how AIDS made us resilient

  • by John-Manuel Andriote
  • May 6, 2020

On my desk are three mementos of the AIDS pandemic. They remind me of what we lived through in the frightening early years of a plague that seemed hell-bent on killing gay men — and the high price we have paid for our resilience.

Thanks to matching offer from anonymous donor, Bay Area Reporter extends fundraising appeal

Thanks to matching offer from anonymous donor, Bay Area Reporter extends fundraising appeal

  • by Michael Yamashita
  • May 1, 2020

Thank you very much, it has been both humbling and encouraging receiving your generous support when so many are also in need of help. So far, we have raised just over $25,000 and are just 15% away from reaching our goal of $30,000.