Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: LGBTQ+ youth + mental health is top priority for Pride 2023

Guest Opinion: LGBTQ+ youth + mental health is top priority for Pride 2023

  • by Juanita MORE!
  • Jun 21, 2023

I've been a San Francisco resident for all of my adult queer life. Thirty of those I've spent inside my current tiny Tenderloin apartment — when I swing open the door, I pass by 20 feet of salon-style, self-commissioned artwork.

Guest Opinion: SF DA pledges support for LGBTQ community

Guest Opinion: SF DA pledges support for LGBTQ community

  • by Brooke Jenkins
  • Jun 14, 2023

I am looking forward to marching in San Francisco's 53rd annual Pride parade this year, alongside members of the San Francisco District Attorney's office, other elected officials, community members, family, friends, and allies.

Guest Opinion: Addressing California's mental health crisis

Guest Opinion: Addressing California's mental health crisis

  • by Corey Jackson
  • Jun 7, 2023

We, as Californians, have made significant progress in recognizing and affirming the rights of the LGBTQ community.

Guest Opinion: Breaking barriers: Advocating for diversity in tech

Guest Opinion: Breaking barriers: Advocating for diversity in tech

  • by Paul Pastor
  • May 31, 2023

I recall interviewing for my first role at The Walt Disney Co. almost 17 years ago. I had 14 interviews.

Guest Opinion: Helping foster youth

Guest Opinion: Helping foster youth

  • by David Ambroz
  • May 24, 2023

Standing at the center of New York City's Grand Central Terminal's main concourse bedraggled and rank in filthy clothes, I watched as the commuters ignored my pleas begging for "just a dollar, sir."

Guest Opinion: It's time for CA to take LGBTQ health seriously

Guest Opinion: It's time for CA to take LGBTQ health seriously

  • by Scott Wiener
  • May 10, 2023

When the COVID-19 pandemic hit, I told my team to pause everything we were working on to focus on providing whatever direct services we could to our community.

Guest Opinion: The Castro Theatre can thrive again — but it must adapt

Guest Opinion: The Castro Theatre can thrive again — but it must adapt

  • by Ralph Hibbs and Brendan Smith
  • May 3, 2023

In January 2022, Another Planet Entertainment announced an agreement with the Nasser family, which owns the century-old Castro Theatre.

Guest Opinion: The Castro Theatre belongs to the community

Guest Opinion: The Castro Theatre belongs to the community

  • by Tom Ammiano and Michela Alioto-Pier
  • Apr 24, 2023

For over 100 years, the Castro Theatre has been an architectural and cultural jewel in our city's crown and has evolved as an icon of the LGBTQ community and culture.

Guest Opinion: Harvey, the merchants, and the theater

Guest Opinion: Harvey, the merchants, and the theater

  • by Terrance Alan
  • Apr 19, 2023

The Castro Merchants Association was founded by Castro Camera business owner Harvey Milk in 1974 in response to the anti-gay Eureka Valley Merchants Association.

Guest Opinion: Not the Mother we wanted, but the one we needed

Guest Opinion: Not the Mother we wanted, but the one we needed

  • by Adriana Roberts
  • Apr 12, 2023

By nearly all accounts, Stefan Grygelko didn't really know what he was doing back when he created his now-legendary drag persona Heklina, on a whim in the early 1990s.

Guest Opinion: Reclaiming the Resurrection

Guest Opinion: Reclaiming the Resurrection

  • by Jim Mitulski
  • Apr 5, 2023

There is nothing like spending two winters in Duluth, Minnesota to make one appreciate the San Francisco Bay Area and all that it has to offer.

Guest Opinion: Time for trans people to stand up

Guest Opinion: Time for trans people to stand up

  • by Gabriel Haaland
  • Mar 29, 2023

This is the worst year in history for anti-trans and anti-drag legislation. Full stop.

Guest Opinion: A more inclusive Alameda County Democratic Party is good for everyone

Guest Opinion: A more inclusive Alameda County Democratic Party is good for everyone

  • by Annie Koruga
  • Mar 22, 2023

Over the past few years, the Alameda County Democratic Party has made significant progress on LGBTQ+ issues.

Guest Opinion: What we lose when an LGBTQ bar closes

Guest Opinion: What we lose when an LGBTQ bar closes

  • by Michael Yamashita
  • Mar 15, 2023

Shortly after the new year, I was stunned after learning another neighborhood business was closing.