Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Stakes are high in wedding website case

Guest Opinion: Stakes are high in wedding website case

  • by Michael Nunez
  • Dec 28, 2022

On December 5, the U.S. Supreme Court heard arguments in 303 Creative LLC vs. Aubrey Elenis, in which the company 303 Creative preemptively seeks the right to refuse to sell wedding websites to same-sex couples.

Guest Opinion: Work continues to advance LGBTQ equity

Guest Opinion: Work continues to advance LGBTQ equity

  • by Jamie Bruning-Miles and Tye Gregory
  • Dec 21, 2022

On Tuesday, December 13, a historic event — the signing in Washington, D.C. of the Respect for Marriage Act by President Joe Biden — brought us all together from the Bay Area.

Guest Opinion: It's fitting that Biden signed marriage bill into law

Guest Opinion: It's fitting that Biden signed marriage bill into law

  • by William F. Wilson
  • Dec 14, 2022

On Tuesday, December 13, President Joe Biden signed into law the Respect for Marriage Act that has passed both the House and Senate.

Guest Opinion: SF trans immigrant summit a great first step

Guest Opinion: SF trans immigrant summit a great first step

  • by Anjali Rimi
  • Dec 7, 2022

Last month, San Francisco Mayor London Breed issued a proclamation recognizing November 18 as Transgender Immigrants Day.

Guest Opinion: Changing the pattern for a future without AIDS

Guest Opinion: Changing the pattern for a future without AIDS

  • by John Cunningham
  • Nov 30, 2022

As our community comes together this World AIDS Day, it's hard not to look around and see who's missing — our friends, lovers, and family we've lost over four decades of this horrific, cruel disease.

Guest Opinion: New governor's council is state's latest step to stop hate

Guest Opinion: New governor's council is state's latest step to stop hate

  • by Joyce Newstat and Scott Wiener
  • Nov 22, 2022

Every year, at the beginning of Pride Month, we put on our parkas and wool caps and head up to Twin Peaks to light the incredible pink triangle installation.

Guest Opinion: Born and becoming

Guest Opinion: Born and becoming

  • by Dianna Anderson
  • Nov 16, 2022

[Growing up], I didn't feel connected to womanhood any more than I felt connected to the car my mom drove to ferry me to and from school while I played my genuinely terrible mix CDs for her.

Guest Opinion: Florida's ban on gender-affirming care is dangerous for us all

Guest Opinion: Florida's ban on gender-affirming care is dangerous for us all

  • by Kellan E. Baker
  • Nov 9, 2022

Our nation's political landscape is frightening, to say the least. Every day, I read new headlines about political extremists who are attacking the rights of LGBTQ+ people in school, at work, and in the doctor's office.

Guest Opinion: Vote yes on Prop L — SF's transportation future depends on it

Guest Opinion: Vote yes on Prop L — SF's transportation future depends on it

  • by by Rafael Mandelman
  • Nov 2, 2022

San Franciscans have a critical choice to make on the ballot this year, and it's one that I fear is not getting enough attention with everything else filling up our ballots.

Guest Opinion: Navigating coming out of the closet in the South

Guest Opinion: Navigating coming out of the closet in the South

  • by Kollyn Conrad
  • Oct 26, 2022

Growing up in the South as gay leaves one with the feeling of not merely being different, but undeserving of respect and, more recently, in danger.

Guest Opinion: In conversation with SFAF's Tyler TerMeer

Guest Opinion: In conversation with SFAF's Tyler TerMeer

  • by Cleve Jones
  • Oct 12, 2022

Cleve Jones, a co-founder of the San Francisco AIDS Foundation, interviewed the agency's current CEO, Tyler TerMeer, Ph.D., about the MPX outbreak, including the community's response and what it has learned from responding to AIDS.

Guest Opinion: On my knees for SF's Prop M

Guest Opinion: On my knees for SF's Prop M

  • by Victor H. Floyd
  • Sep 28, 2022

Thirty years ago, I tested positive for HIV. I could not imagine a secure future for myself as an out gay man in my hometown of Atlanta. I had to escape.

Guest Opinion: CA Senate Bill 951 matters to our community

Guest Opinion: CA Senate Bill 951 matters to our community

  • by Mimi Demissew
  • Sep 14, 2022

California is a beautiful state, there's no question about it. As a state we lead the nation in many ways, from affordable access to education, legal protections for our most vulnerable, and employee-friendly policies.

Guest Opinion: Pridefest offers a new beginning in Oakland

Guest Opinion: Pridefest offers a new beginning in Oakland

  • by Sean Sullivan and Christie James
  • Sep 7, 2022

After years of working to create a safe space and build a sense of community in The Town, our town, we couldn't believe the words we were hearing about the spirit of Pride in Oakland — that "Pride was dead."