Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Support 1st housing project in 40 years in Diamond Heights

Guest Opinion: Support 1st housing project in 40 years in Diamond Heights

  • by by Jim Chappell
  • Aug 18, 2021

In 1977 I escaped from the Midwest and arrived in our gay haven, the Castro. Even though I was in my early 30s I did something a young person would never be able to do today ... buy a fixer in District 8.

Guest Opinion: LGBTQs should reject the CA recall

Guest Opinion: LGBTQs should reject the CA recall

  • by Tiffany Woods and Lester Aponte
  • Aug 11, 2021

Governor Gavin Newsom has been a champion of LGBTQ+ equality for decades. Full Stop!

Guest Opinion: City College is excited to welcome our students back for fall semester

Guest Opinion: City College is excited to welcome our students back for fall semester

  • by Shanell Williams and Tom Temprano
  • Aug 4, 2021

City College of San Francisco's students, faculty, and staff faced significant challenges during COVID-19, and the safety of our students has been at the forefront of the college's pandemic response.

Guest Opinion: Why I oppose recall of DA Chesa Boudin

Guest Opinion: Why I oppose recall of DA Chesa Boudin

  • by Bevan Dufty
  • Jul 21, 2021

In just about seven weeks, Californians will head back to the polls to vote whether to recall Governor Gavin Newsom.

Guest Opinion: Queer, disabled, and running for office

Guest Opinion: Queer, disabled, and running for office

  • by Ed Carter
  • Jul 7, 2021

The 117th Congress is the most diverse the United States has ever seen.

Guest Opinion: Communities can now provide input for CA redistricting process

Guest Opinion: Communities can now provide input for CA redistricting process

  • by Isra Ahmad
  • Jun 30, 2021

Because "We the People" should select our representatives and not the other way around, the independent California Citizens Redistricting Commission, or CRC, was established in 2008 by citizen initiative.

Guest Opinion: 'No Pride for some of us without liberation for all of us'

Guest Opinion: 'No Pride for some of us without liberation for all of us'

  • by James Coleman
  • Jun 25, 2021

This June, South San Francisco raised the Progress Pride flag.

Guest Opinion: Kink at Pride debate newest example of straight colonization

Guest Opinion: Kink at Pride debate newest example of straight colonization

  • by Andrew Kelly
  • Jun 24, 2021

Recently, the topic of kink- and fetish-related exhibits at Pride parades has become a flashpoint within the culture war

Guest Opinion: SF budget invests in LGBTQs

Guest Opinion: SF budget invests in LGBTQs

  • by Matt Haney and Rafael Mandelman
  • Jun 23, 2021

This Pride week the San Francisco Board of Supervisors has been busy finalizing our city's budget with big investments in our LGBTQ+ community.

Guest Opinion: Being out at Wells Fargo

Guest Opinion: Being out at Wells Fargo

  • by Matt Hurwitz
  • Jun 16, 2021

I came out to my family when I was 26 years old. Even though I was certain they'd be loving and supportive once they wrapped their heads around the news, for some reason, the idea of saying "I'm gay" was terrifying.

Guest Opinion: California vs. 34 other states: The fight to defend our transgender and gender-nonconforming community

Guest Opinion: California vs. 34 other states: The fight to defend our transgender and gender-nonconforming community

  • by David Chiu
  • Jun 9, 2021

This year, GOP-controlled states throughout our country have advanced an unprecedented number of discriminatory bills targeting our transgender and gender-nonconforming community, particularly TGNC young people.

Guest Opinion: You can be open about addiction

Guest Opinion: You can be open about addiction

  • by Fay Zenoff
  • Jun 9, 2021

What queer identity and addiction have in common is that one can choose to be closeted about both.

Guest Opinion: HIV/AIDS is not over

Guest Opinion: HIV/AIDS is not over

  • by Matt Sharp
  • Jun 2, 2021

Oaklawn, Dallas, 1984. Back then, I stopped into the Crossroads Market about once a week to pick up the latest issue of the New York Native, a gay political newsprint magazine where I could get the very latest information about AIDS.

Guest Opinion: 'One of the men who fought the war': Life as an AIDS casualty

Guest Opinion: 'One of the men who fought the war': Life as an AIDS casualty

  • by John-Manuel Andriote
  • Jun 2, 2021

Like every gay man paying attention at the time, I heard about the "new disease" afflicting gay men not long after it was first reported in 1981.