Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Independence will protect vulnerable communities

Guest Opinion: Independence will protect vulnerable communities

  • by Nancy Tung
  • Sep 11, 2019

We see around us every day that what's happening on our streets isn't working.

Guest Opinion: Fighting for LGBTQ equality — and safety

Guest Opinion: Fighting for LGBTQ equality — and safety

  • by Suzy Loftus
  • Sep 11, 2019

We San Franciscans are blessed to live in a city that celebrates our rich diversity, where we find sanctuary with one another.

Guest Opinion: Harris is the best choice for president

Guest Opinion: Harris is the best choice for president

  • by Scott Wiener
  • Sep 11, 2019

Gay state Senator Scott Wiener makes the case for Kamala Harris for president.

Guest Opinion: DA's office needs to be part of solution

Guest Opinion: DA's office needs to be part of solution

  • by Leif Dautch
  • Sep 4, 2019

When it comes to homelessness, car break-ins, and police accountability, the San Francisco District Attorney's office has been part of the problem — I'm running to make it part of the solution.

Guest Opinion: New approach needed for safety

Guest Opinion: New approach needed for safety

  • by Chesa Boudin
  • Sep 4, 2019

When I was in diapers, my parents drove the getaway car in an armed robbery that tragically took three lives. My mother spent 22 years in prison.

Guest Opinion: It's time for a conversation on meth use in the LGBTQ community

Guest Opinion: It's time for a conversation on meth use in the LGBTQ community

  • by Joe Hollendoner, Rafael Mandelman, and Laura Thomas
  • Sep 4, 2019

Recent headlines scream that "Meth is back" but we know that methamphetamine never left the LGBTQ community, at least not here in San Francisco.

Guest Opinion: A call for solidarity with Palestinian queers

Guest Opinion: A call for solidarity with Palestinian queers

  • by Rabab Ibrahim Abdulhadi, Mary Salome, Kate Raphael, and Deeg Gold
  • Aug 28, 2019

On August 18, the Palestinian Authority Police Force issued a statement banning the activities of alQaws for Sexual and Gender Diversity in Palestinian Society and encouraging Palestinians to police, criminalize, and report on alQaws activities.

Guest Opinion: Teachers' unions on front line of equality fight

Guest Opinion: Teachers' unions on front line of equality fight

  • by Jeff Freitas
  • Aug 21, 2019

"My name is Jeff Freitas, I am an American Federation of Teachers vice president, the president of the California Federation of Teachers, and I am a gay teacher."

Guest Opinion: Domestic partnership policy turns 40

Guest Opinion: Domestic partnership policy turns 40

  • by Tom Brougham
  • Aug 14, 2019

This month marks the 40th anniversary of the "invention" of domestic partnerships policy. On August 21, 1979, I delivered two letters to my employer, the City of Berkeley.

Guest Opinion: Change takes time, but action is key

Guest Opinion: Change takes time, but action is key

  • by Edafe Okporo
  • Aug 7, 2019

What is the cost of inaction to me and the people I love? This is the question I ask myself each time I find myself with a bullhorn and a group of people marching and protesting for change.

SF Homeless Project: Guest Opinion: We have to raise the floor on housing

SF Homeless Project: Guest Opinion: We have to raise the floor on housing

  • by by Janetta Johnson
  • Jul 31, 2019

Everyday, my staff and I at TGI Justice Project work tirelessly to find a safe place to call home for our transgender, gender variant, and intersex community. It keeps me up at night. It should keep us all up at night.

Guest Opinion: Next steps for LGBTQ nonprofits

Guest Opinion: Next steps for LGBTQ nonprofits

  • by Leslie Ewing
  • Jul 24, 2019

Ever since I announced my retirement from Pacific Center, people have been asking, "What's next?"

Guest Opinion: Biz support needed beyond Pride Month

Guest Opinion: Biz support needed beyond Pride Month

  • by Ruth Borenstein
  • Jul 17, 2019

Another Pride, another year of people expressing frustration about the large corporate presence at the parade.

Guest Opinion: Jose Sarria's history is important

Guest Opinion: Jose Sarria's history is important

  • by Nathan Page
  • Jul 10, 2019

Jose Sarria has been called the "Rosa Parks of the gay rights movement" of the 1960s. His history is important and now there's an effort underway to induct him posthumously into the California Hall of Fame.