Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Care about the Castro Street Fair

Guest Opinion: Care about the Castro Street Fair

  • by Cleve Jones
  • Apr 12, 2018

A veteran gay activist explains why the Castro Street Fair is important and why you should attend an upcoming community meeting.

Guest Opinion: Why Milk terminal at SFO is important

Guest Opinion: Why Milk terminal at SFO is important

  • by Nick Large
  • Apr 4, 2018

In 2011, I decided to pack my bags and move to San Francisco. I told my parents I wanted to venture off into the world on my own, studying psychology.

Challenging the gender binary, one bill at a time

Challenging the gender binary, one bill at a time

  • by by I.W. Gregorio
  • Mar 28, 2018

When Governor Jerry Brown signed the Gender Recognition Act (Senate Bill 179) last October, it gave nonbinary and intersex adults in California an unprecedented validation.

Why I left East Bay Stonewall board

Why I left East Bay Stonewall board

  • by Michael Colbruno
  • Mar 21, 2018

This month I decided not to run for another term as a board member and political action committee chair of the East Bay Stonewall Democratic Club, ending an almost continuous string of involvement in LGBT organizations, causes, and clubs.

SF judges should be retained

SF judges should be retained

  • by Angela Bradstreet, Terry Stewart, Donna Hitchens, and Linda Colfax
  • Mar 14, 2018

San Francisco's LGBT judges urge the re-election of four of their straight colleagues.

Coming out against underage LGBTQI tobacco sales

Coming out against underage LGBTQI tobacco sales

  • by April Roeseler
  • Mar 7, 2018

In less than two years, California's Tobacco 21, or "T21," law has proved to be a powerful weapon in the war on illegal tobacco sales to underage youth.

Trump's dangerous budget moves

Trump's dangerous budget moves

  • by Dana Van Gorder
  • Feb 28, 2018

During the eight years of Barack Obama's presidency, great progress on HIV and hepatitis C occurred as a result of his vigorous, compassionate, and competent leadership.

Insurance commissioner must stand up for patients and other Californians

Insurance commissioner must stand up for patients and other Californians

  • by Ricardo Lara
  • Feb 21, 2018

In my race to become California's next insurance commissioner - and our first openly gay statewide elected leader - I have traveled all over the state, and there is one question I always get.

Regional collaboration is key to ending homelessness

Regional collaboration is key to ending homelessness

  • by John Bauters
  • Feb 14, 2018

Despite significant efforts to combat homelessness, the needs of the homeless population are outpacing the local response.

Attitudes have shifted on LGBTQ issues

Attitudes have shifted on LGBTQ issues

  • by by Rick Smolan and Jennifer Erwitt
  • Feb 7, 2018

The LGBTQ movement for equality dates back to the years after World War II - when contemporary homophobia also really began.

A difficult decision for interim mayor

A difficult decision for interim mayor

  • by Jeff Sheehy
  • Feb 1, 2018

San Francisco is a dynamic city with stubborn challenges. Residents want local government to combat homelessness and property crime with greater urgency.

LGBTQ leaders need to be at the table as FAIR Act is implemented

LGBTQ leaders need to be at the table as FAIR Act is implemented

  • by Gary Waddell
  • Jan 24, 2018

California is leading the way in implementing LGBTQ-inclusive textbooks in public schools. Senate Bill 48, the FAIR Education Act, authored by gay then-state Senator Mark Leno (D-San Francisco) went into effect January 1, 2012.

Now is the time to get a hep A shot

Now is the time to get a hep A shot

  • by by Gil F. Chavez
  • Jan 17, 2018

The United States is currently experiencing the largest person-to-person hepatitis A outbreak, which is predominantly affecting people who are homeless or who use drugs in unsanitary conditions, in more than two decades.

SF's trans community - from then to now

SF's trans community - from then to now

  • by Theresa Sparks
  • Jan 10, 2018

For my entire life, two things have remained constant: confusion about my gender and a deeply held belief I could do nothing about it.