Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Why Massachusetts matters

Guest Opinion: Why Massachusetts matters

  • by Jim Mitulski
  • Jul 18, 2018

"Hi! My name is Jim, and we're in the neighborhood today talking about human rights and civil rights for Massachusetts citizens. And, in particular, we want to talk about equal rights for our transgender friends and neighbors ..."

Guest Opinion: English only

Guest Opinion: English only

  • by Emilio Gonzalez
  • Jul 11, 2018

When I told my mother what the principal had done to me she took off her white cotton apron, put on her walking shoes, and in her everyday housedress took me by the hand, dabbed my tears, and said, "Let's go, Emilio."

Guest Opinion: Expanding tax benefits for same-sex partners

Guest Opinion: Expanding tax benefits for same-sex partners

  • by Carmen Chu
  • Jul 4, 2018

Earlier this year, I partnered with assessors across the state to draft and introduce Assembly Bill 2663.

Guest Opinion: Surviving

Guest Opinion: Surviving

  • by Brian Basinger
  • Jun 27, 2018

This fall, Californians will have a chance to vote on the Affordable Housing Act, which would repeal the Costa-Hawkins Rental Housing Act and return to city governments the option to expand rent control if they feel it's necessary.

Guest Opinion: Visibility is our superpower

Guest Opinion: Visibility is our superpower

  • by Jewelle Gomez
  • Jun 20, 2018

This year I have the honor of being the lifetime achievement grand marshal for the San Francisco Pride parade. I haven't missed a Pride parade since I moved to California 25 years ago.

Guest Opinion: Thank you, District 8

Guest Opinion: Thank you, District 8

  • by Rafael Mandelman
  • Jun 13, 2018

District 8 Supervisor-elect Rafael Mandelman thanks voters after his victory in last week's election.

Guest Opinion: Gay & Lesbian Review marks 25 years

Guest Opinion: Gay & Lesbian Review marks 25 years

  • by Richard Schneider Jr.
  • Jun 6, 2018

As we sprint toward the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall riots next year, we at the Gay & Lesbian Review are celebrating our 25th year of publication.

Guest Opinion: Why yes on Prop E benefits LGBTs

Guest Opinion: Why yes on Prop E benefits LGBTs

  • by Naphtali Offen
  • May 30, 2018

In April 2017, the San Francisco Board of Supervisors voted unanimously to eliminate the sale of menthol and other flavor additives in all nicotine products sold in the city.

Guest Opinion: Leno's experience makes him best choice for SF mayor

Guest Opinion: Leno's experience makes him best choice for SF mayor

  • by Annise Parker
  • May 29, 2018

The lesbian former mayor of Houston explains why gay San Francisco mayoral candidate Maek Leno is the best choice for voters.

Guest Opinion: The US fails to protect asylum seekers

Guest Opinion: The US fails to protect asylum seekers

  • by Anna Lijphart
  • May 2, 2018

Federal asylum authorities recently announced a bizarre policy change that punishes asylum seekers who have already been waiting in the queue for years.

Guest Opinion: SF fur ban may spark larger social movement

Guest Opinion: SF fur ban may spark larger social movement

  • by Rob Daroff
  • Apr 25, 2018

The San Francisco Board of Supervisors recently voted to ban fur sales, making it the third and largest U.S. city to pass such a prohibition.

Guest Opinion: LGBT center is an antidote to hate

Guest Opinion: LGBT center is an antidote to hate

  • by Rebecca Rolfe and Roberto OrdeƱana
  • Apr 18, 2018

People of color, queer people, women, and people with disabilities know that bigotry is deeply rooted in this country's DNA. Our differences have always been used as a weapon to divide us.

Guest Opinion: Care about the Castro Street Fair

Guest Opinion: Care about the Castro Street Fair

  • by Cleve Jones
  • Apr 12, 2018

A veteran gay activist explains why the Castro Street Fair is important and why you should attend an upcoming community meeting.

Guest Opinion: Why Milk terminal at SFO is important

Guest Opinion: Why Milk terminal at SFO is important

  • by Nick Large
  • Apr 4, 2018

In 2011, I decided to pack my bags and move to San Francisco. I told my parents I wanted to venture off into the world on my own, studying psychology.