Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Zhao unfit to serve on SF school board

Guest Opinion: Zhao unfit to serve on SF school board

  • by Marilyn Murrillo
  • Sep 5, 2018

We need members on the San Francisco Unified School District Board of Trustees who are effective leaders dedicated to the safety and education of all students.

Guest Opinion: 68 days to save the world: Action=Life

Guest Opinion: 68 days to save the world: Action=Life

  • by Charlie Spiegel
  • Aug 29, 2018

I was appalled to hear a gay man interviewed during this current presidency, or, as I prefer, "residency," who said: "See, he's been in the White House for months and hasn't done away with gay marriage."

Guest Opinion: DeGeneres' message of compassion resonates

Guest Opinion: DeGeneres' message of compassion resonates

  • by Nancy A. Magee
  • Aug 22, 2018

I felt lucky to be sitting with thousands of kindred spirits in Davies Symphony Hall last Friday night enjoying Ellen DeGeneres' first stand-up comedy tour in 15 years.

Guest Opinion: Build it, and the people will come

Guest Opinion: Build it, and the people will come

  • by Ken Jones
  • Aug 15, 2018

The Castro Muni station has meant a lot of different things to me during the past four decades: a construction site. A community rallying place. A point of entry for gay people from around the globe. And now, a workplace.

Guest Opinion: B.A.R.'s 'No obits' turns 20

Guest Opinion: B.A.R.'s 'No obits' turns 20

  • by Timothy Rodrigues
  • Aug 8, 2018

The former Bay Area Reporter assistant editor who wrote the paper's famous "No obits" story reflects on it 20 years later.

Guest Opinion: Census must drop citizenship question

Guest Opinion: Census must drop citizenship question

  • by Sandy Close
  • Aug 1, 2018

The U.S. Census Bureau is seeking public comment on its 2020 census plan, which includes a citizenship question on the census form all households must answer.

Guest Opinion: Polyamorous porn stars defy stereotypes

Guest Opinion: Polyamorous porn stars defy stereotypes

  • by Bradford Wolfe and Alex Grey
  • Jul 25, 2018

There are a limitless number of characteristics that people typically associate with porn stars; these individuals are often presumed to be wild, promiscuous, money-hungry, and morally bankrupt, endorsing an industry rich in corruption and violence.

Guest Opinion: Why Massachusetts matters

Guest Opinion: Why Massachusetts matters

  • by Jim Mitulski
  • Jul 18, 2018

"Hi! My name is Jim, and we're in the neighborhood today talking about human rights and civil rights for Massachusetts citizens. And, in particular, we want to talk about equal rights for our transgender friends and neighbors ..."

Guest Opinion: English only

Guest Opinion: English only

  • by Emilio Gonzalez
  • Jul 11, 2018

When I told my mother what the principal had done to me she took off her white cotton apron, put on her walking shoes, and in her everyday housedress took me by the hand, dabbed my tears, and said, "Let's go, Emilio."

Guest Opinion: Expanding tax benefits for same-sex partners

Guest Opinion: Expanding tax benefits for same-sex partners

  • by Carmen Chu
  • Jul 4, 2018

Earlier this year, I partnered with assessors across the state to draft and introduce Assembly Bill 2663.

Guest Opinion: Surviving

Guest Opinion: Surviving

  • by Brian Basinger
  • Jun 27, 2018

This fall, Californians will have a chance to vote on the Affordable Housing Act, which would repeal the Costa-Hawkins Rental Housing Act and return to city governments the option to expand rent control if they feel it's necessary.

Guest Opinion: Visibility is our superpower

Guest Opinion: Visibility is our superpower

  • by Jewelle Gomez
  • Jun 20, 2018

This year I have the honor of being the lifetime achievement grand marshal for the San Francisco Pride parade. I haven't missed a Pride parade since I moved to California 25 years ago.

Guest Opinion: Thank you, District 8

Guest Opinion: Thank you, District 8

  • by Rafael Mandelman
  • Jun 13, 2018

District 8 Supervisor-elect Rafael Mandelman thanks voters after his victory in last week's election.

Guest Opinion: Gay & Lesbian Review marks 25 years

Guest Opinion: Gay & Lesbian Review marks 25 years

  • by Richard Schneider Jr.
  • Jun 6, 2018

As we sprint toward the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall riots next year, we at the Gay & Lesbian Review are celebrating our 25th year of publication.