Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Why the queer community came out for the SF school board recall

Guest Opinion: Why the queer community came out for the SF school board recall

  • by David "Gaybraham Lincoln" Thompson
  • Mar 2, 2022

The recall of San Francisco school board President Gabriela López and Commissioners Faauuga Moliga and Alison Collins united the entire city in demanding competent leaders for our children, and it would not have happened without the LGBTQIA community.

Guest Opinion: SFUSD management seeks to fire beloved queer mentor and math teacher

Guest Opinion: SFUSD management seeks to fire beloved queer mentor and math teacher

  • by John Lisovsky
  • Feb 18, 2022

The national teacher shortage has not spared San Francisco, which is seeing extreme difficulty filling teaching positions.

Guest Opinion: Celebrating a name change? Protect your financial future

Guest Opinion: Celebrating a name change? Protect your financial future

  • by Eric J. Ellman
  • Feb 16, 2022

If you're transitioning into your true gender identity, legally changing your name marks an important milestone in becoming your authentic self.

Guest Opinion: Addicted to supremacy

Guest Opinion: Addicted to supremacy

  • by Dwayne Ratleff
  • Feb 2, 2022

After returning home and putting the food away, our mother instructed [my sister and I] to change out of our play clothes and into our school clothes.

Guest Opinion: The price of banking

Guest Opinion: The price of banking

  • by Charlie Hunts
  • Jan 26, 2022

What if using a credit card meant being deadnamed every time that you pulled it out. Due to defunct security practices at traditional banks, for most of the trans community that's reality.

Guest Opinion: 'Know Our Place:' The wrong subtext for the Transgender District

Guest Opinion: 'Know Our Place:' The wrong subtext for the Transgender District

  • by Adriana Roberts
  • Jan 19, 2022

As a 30-year resident of San Francisco — who is also a transgender woman — I was elated when I first saw, in 2017, that the city had designated an official and legally-recognized Transgender District, centered at Turk and Taylor streets.

Guest Opinion: For MLK Day, fight for voting rights

Guest Opinion: For MLK Day, fight for voting rights

  • by David J. Johns
  • Jan 12, 2022

The executive director of the National Black Justice Coalition calls for action to honor the Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.'s birthday.

Guest Opinion: Smoking imperils health of LGBTQ+ BIPOC community

Guest Opinion: Smoking imperils health of LGBTQ+ BIPOC community

  • by Ryan Oda
  • Jan 5, 2022

While smoking rates have declined nationally in the past 20 years, this reduction has not been shared equally among Black, Indigenous, and people of color communities or the LGBTQ+ community — and especially among those with intersecting identities.

Guest Opinion: Matt Haney, progressive champion for Assembly

Guest Opinion: Matt Haney, progressive champion for Assembly

  • by Honey Mahogany and Race Bannon
  • Dec 22, 2021

If you follow San Francisco politics, you know Matt Haney.

Guest Opinion: Thea Selby is my choice for CA Assembly

Guest Opinion: Thea Selby is my choice for CA Assembly

  • by Marlena
  • Dec 15, 2021

On February 15, San Francisco voters will participate in a special election to replace David Chiu in the California Assembly for District 17.

Guest Opinion: Why I'm supporting Bilal Mahmood for Assembly

Guest Opinion: Why I'm supporting Bilal Mahmood for Assembly

  • by Austin Hunter
  • Dec 8, 2021

When I came out to my loved ones, they were worried I would get AIDS. When I came out to my best friend, she told me she knew a camp that could fix me.

Guest Opinion: A tribute to Stephen Sondheim

Guest Opinion: A tribute to Stephen Sondheim

  • by Marc Huestis
  • Dec 1, 2021

In 1971, at the age of 17, I ventured (by myself) from my Long Island home to New York City to see my first live musical: Stephen Sondheim's "Company."

Guest Opinion: SF needs to increase spending on LGBTQ public health, homelessness

Guest Opinion: SF needs to increase spending on LGBTQ public health, homelessness

  • by Megan Rohrer
  • Nov 23, 2021

As the first trans bishop in a mainline Christian church since the council of Nicaea (325 CE), I am proud to be one of many trans individuals living faithfully in this world.

Guest Opinion: David Campos' story

Guest Opinion: David Campos' story

  • by Gwenn Craig and Esperanza Macias
  • Nov 17, 2021

If elected, David Campos would be the first formerly undocumented, Latinx, and LGBTQ person to ever represent San Francisco in the California State Assembly.