Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Montpellier takes pride as the 'French San Francisco'

Guest Opinion: Montpellier takes pride as the 'French San Francisco'

  • by Malcolm Biiga
  • Jul 26, 2023

On May 29, 2013, a month after the final adoption of Marriage for All, then Montpellier mayor Hélène Mandroux presided at the very first same-sex wedding in France.

Guest Opinion: Book details US fight for LGBTQ equality

Guest Opinion: Book details US fight for LGBTQ equality

  • by Kevin Naff
  • Jul 19, 2023

The exhilarating days of Obama-era LGBTQ activism have given way to a dangerous complacency that threatens all the unprecedented gains of the past 20 years.

Guest Opinion: Hope, inclusion needed now more than ever

Guest Opinion: Hope, inclusion needed now more than ever

  • by Toni G. Atkins
  • Jul 12, 2023

Growing up in southwestern Virginia, in a family so poor our home had no running water, it shouldn't come as a surprise that I never had an LGBTQ+ role model to turn to or to emulate as I tried to understand who I was.

Guest Opinion: Trans rights are human rights: Advocating for equality and understanding

Guest Opinion: Trans rights are human rights: Advocating for equality and understanding

  • by Kollyn Conrad
  • Jul 5, 2023

Over the last few years, LGBTQIA+ community members have been hit with an onslaught of legislation aimed at silencing their voices, hiding their identities, and stripping them of their rights.

Guest Opinion: Our LGBTQ students need a voice at the table

Guest Opinion: Our LGBTQ students need a voice at the table

  • by John Laird
  • Jun 28, 2023

Last year, Paso Robles High School, located in my state Senate District 17, experienced a deeply disturbing incident.

Guest Opinion: LGBTQ+ youth + mental health is top priority for Pride 2023

Guest Opinion: LGBTQ+ youth + mental health is top priority for Pride 2023

  • by Juanita MORE!
  • Jun 21, 2023

I've been a San Francisco resident for all of my adult queer life. Thirty of those I've spent inside my current tiny Tenderloin apartment — when I swing open the door, I pass by 20 feet of salon-style, self-commissioned artwork.

Guest Opinion: SF DA pledges support for LGBTQ community

Guest Opinion: SF DA pledges support for LGBTQ community

  • by Brooke Jenkins
  • Jun 14, 2023

I am looking forward to marching in San Francisco's 53rd annual Pride parade this year, alongside members of the San Francisco District Attorney's office, other elected officials, community members, family, friends, and allies.

Guest Opinion: Addressing California's mental health crisis

Guest Opinion: Addressing California's mental health crisis

  • by Corey Jackson
  • Jun 7, 2023

We, as Californians, have made significant progress in recognizing and affirming the rights of the LGBTQ community.

Guest Opinion: Breaking barriers: Advocating for diversity in tech

Guest Opinion: Breaking barriers: Advocating for diversity in tech

  • by Paul Pastor
  • May 31, 2023

I recall interviewing for my first role at The Walt Disney Co. almost 17 years ago. I had 14 interviews.

Guest Opinion: Helping foster youth

Guest Opinion: Helping foster youth

  • by David Ambroz
  • May 24, 2023

Standing at the center of New York City's Grand Central Terminal's main concourse bedraggled and rank in filthy clothes, I watched as the commuters ignored my pleas begging for "just a dollar, sir."

Guest Opinion: It's time for CA to take LGBTQ health seriously

Guest Opinion: It's time for CA to take LGBTQ health seriously

  • by Scott Wiener
  • May 10, 2023

When the COVID-19 pandemic hit, I told my team to pause everything we were working on to focus on providing whatever direct services we could to our community.

Guest Opinion: The Castro Theatre can thrive again — but it must adapt

Guest Opinion: The Castro Theatre can thrive again — but it must adapt

  • by Ralph Hibbs and Brendan Smith
  • May 3, 2023

In January 2022, Another Planet Entertainment announced an agreement with the Nasser family, which owns the century-old Castro Theatre.

Guest Opinion: The Castro Theatre belongs to the community

Guest Opinion: The Castro Theatre belongs to the community

  • by Tom Ammiano and Michela Alioto-Pier
  • Apr 24, 2023

For over 100 years, the Castro Theatre has been an architectural and cultural jewel in our city's crown and has evolved as an icon of the LGBTQ community and culture.

Guest Opinion: Harvey, the merchants, and the theater

Guest Opinion: Harvey, the merchants, and the theater

  • by Terrance Alan
  • Apr 19, 2023

The Castro Merchants Association was founded by Castro Camera business owner Harvey Milk in 1974 in response to the anti-gay Eureka Valley Merchants Association.