Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Connecting the Bay Area-San Joaquin Valley mega-region

Connecting the Bay Area-San Joaquin Valley mega-region

  • by Susan Talamantes Eggman
  • Dec 13, 2017

"A 2:15 alarm, two trains, and a bus get her to work by 7 a.m." This was the August headline in a New York Times story about Stockton resident (and one of my constituents) Sheila James and her daily commute from Stockton to San Francisco.

Honor Milk with new plaza

Honor Milk with new plaza

  • by Andrea Aiello
  • Dec 6, 2017

The Friends of Harvey Milk Plaza, or FHMP, is excited about the community dialogue to reimagine and reinvigorate Harvey Milk Plaza.

Holiday tips from a harm reductionist

Holiday tips from a harm reductionist

  • by Jeremy Prillwitz
  • Nov 29, 2017

You probably know what it feels like to be in the throes of holiday stress.

Guest Opinion: SF needs more LGBTQ shelters

Guest Opinion: SF needs more LGBTQ shelters

  • by by Brenda Cordova
  • Nov 22, 2017

Imagine you are walking down the street in San Francisco enjoying the view until suddenly you come across a sidewalk full of homeless encampments.

Guest Opinion: Plaza architect weighs in on update

Guest Opinion: Plaza architect weighs in on update

  • by Howard Grant
  • Nov 15, 2017

I am the retired architect and designer of the Castro Street Muni Metro station and Harvey Milk Plaza.

Yes, No, YES! - district elections

Yes, No, YES! - district elections

  • by Jon Golinger
  • Nov 8, 2017

Harvey Milk lost before he won.

Harvey Milk's lasting legacy

Harvey Milk's lasting legacy

  • by Mark Leno
  • Nov 1, 2017

Though I arrived in San Francisco in 1977, I never met Harvey Milk. Because of his work and the legacy he leaves behind, many have tried to claim Milk as part of their own stories.

I was recently informed I am NOT a transsexual

I was recently informed I am NOT a transsexual

  • by Riki Wilchins
  • Oct 25, 2017

I was giving my Gender 101 presentation to an important corporate client in the Bay Area recently, when I got to the Terms & Definitions. It was then I learned I am no longer a transsexual.

Trump's refugee death sentence

Trump's refugee death sentence

  • by Jessica Stern
  • Oct 18, 2017

On October 1, with the start of the 2018 fiscal year, President Donald Trump's aggressive restructuring of federal funds and policies became a reality.

Don't believe the hype about Chicago Dyke March

Don't believe the hype about Chicago Dyke March

  • by Kate Raphael and Deeg Gold
  • Aug 9, 2017

It ain't over until I sing

It ain't over until I sing

  • by Monica F. Helms
  • Aug 2, 2017

Book group works to highlight racism

Book group works to highlight racism

  • by LeRon Barton
  • Jul 26, 2017

17th Street's dangerous rails

17th Street's dangerous rails

  • by John Entwistle Jr.
  • Jul 19, 2017

We shall not be moved

We shall not be moved

  • by Jesse Oliver Sanford
  • Jul 12, 2017