Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Stonewall 51: Moving forward

Guest Opinion: Stonewall 51: Moving forward

  • by Julia Feliz and Z. Zane McNeill
  • Jun 24, 2020

A year on from Stonewall's 50th anniversary, we find ourselves in quite an odd time in history.

Guest Opinion: A chance to deepen Pride's rainbow

Guest Opinion: A chance to deepen Pride's rainbow

  • by Keith Highiet
  • Jun 17, 2020

Celebrating Pride this June is anything but what we'd envisioned for 2020.

Guest Opinion: Protests and lessons learned in the pursuit of justice

Guest Opinion: Protests and lessons learned in the pursuit of justice

  • by Kiki Monifa
  • Jun 10, 2020

First of all, I am talking about the peaceful protests. I live in Oakland, California and during 1967's Summer of Love it was our neighboring city of Berkeley that garnered the media attention for demonstrations and protests.

Guest Opinion: An anniversary unlike any other

Guest Opinion: An anniversary unlike any other

  • by Imani Rupert-Gordon
  • May 27, 2020

This year's Anniversary Celebration for the National Center for Lesbian Rights will be nothing like I imagined when I accepted the position as executive director in late 2019.

Guest Opinion: Castro needs safe sleeping village

Guest Opinion: Castro needs safe sleeping village

  • by Rafael Mandelman
  • May 20, 2020

Shelter in place, which has been so successful at flattening the curve and saving lives, has been a disaster for street conditions in San Francisco.

Guest Opinion: SF has a powerful urge to care

Guest Opinion: SF has a powerful urge to care

  • by Kaushik Roy
  • May 13, 2020

Given what has transpired in our nation over the last several years, it is hard to argue with what then-Senator Barack Obama asserted in 2006: that America indeed suffers from an "empathy deficit."

Guest Opinion: COVID-19 reminds us how AIDS made us resilient

Guest Opinion: COVID-19 reminds us how AIDS made us resilient

  • by John-Manuel Andriote
  • May 6, 2020

On my desk are three mementos of the AIDS pandemic. They remind me of what we lived through in the frightening early years of a plague that seemed hell-bent on killing gay men — and the high price we have paid for our resilience.

Thanks to matching offer from anonymous donor, Bay Area Reporter extends fundraising appeal

Thanks to matching offer from anonymous donor, Bay Area Reporter extends fundraising appeal

  • by Michael Yamashita
  • May 1, 2020

Thank you very much, it has been both humbling and encouraging receiving your generous support when so many are also in need of help. So far, we have raised just over $25,000 and are just 15% away from reaching our goal of $30,000.

Guest Opinion: Sex in the time of COVID-19

Guest Opinion: Sex in the time of COVID-19

  • by Alan Lessik
  • Apr 29, 2020

Who could imagine that radical behavioral changes required due to the new coronavirus would make kissing dangerous and caressing forbidden?

Guest Opinion: LGBTQ leaders stand in solidarity

Guest Opinion: LGBTQ leaders stand in solidarity

  • by Daniel Redman
  • Apr 22, 2020

We, the undersigned, are members or allies of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer community in the city of San Francisco.

Guest Opinion: Out of anger, Gay Teachers forms

Guest Opinion: Out of anger, Gay Teachers forms

  • by Tom Ammiano
  • Apr 15, 2020

An exclusive excerpt from Tom Ammiano's memoir, "Kiss My Gay Ass: My trip down the Yellow Brick Road through activism, stand-up, and politics."

You can help support the Bay Area Reporter fundraising campaign

You can help support the Bay Area Reporter fundraising campaign

  • by Michael Yamashita
  • Apr 15, 2020

San Francisco is one of 11 US cities that is fortunate to have a legacy LGBT publication by us, for us, and about us. Help preserve the BAR as an historic and important community institution for the future.

Guest Opinion: Easter 2020: Now more than ever

Guest Opinion: Easter 2020: Now more than ever

  • by Jim Mitulski
  • Apr 8, 2020

This Sunday is Easter, typically the most joyous day of the church year for Christians.

Guest Opinion: Why the words social distancing are wrong

Guest Opinion: Why the words social distancing are wrong

  • by Jesus Guillen
  • Apr 1, 2020

From the first time I heard the words social distancing I felt a headache. I knew something was not right. But the words kept flowing down the river, and people kept accepting those 16 letters as the bible of reality.