Opinion

Letters to the editor

Letters to the editor

After the orchestra seats are removed from the Castro Theatre, a reader suggests pop-up disco weekends for Pride Month.

Guest Opinion: Navigating gender transition in the workplace

Guest Opinion: Navigating gender transition in the workplace

As the CEO of a business, you are responsible for the company's performance as well as its image in the eyes of employees, clients, and the public.

Editorial: Anti-LGBTQ actions unlikely to lessen in 2024

Editorial: Anti-LGBTQ actions unlikely to lessen in 2024

  • EDITORIAL
  • by BAR Editorial Board
  • Dec 27, 2023

Our colleague Gwen Smith notes in her Transmissions column this week that according to the Trans Legislation Tracker, there were 589 anti-trans bills introduced in 49 states in 2023.

Guest Opinion: Pope's directive represents progress

Guest Opinion: Pope's directive represents progress

This week something unprecedented happened at the Vatican's Dicastery for the Doctrine of the Faith. Pope Francis quietly, yet unmistakably, shifted the rules regarding the honoring of LGBTQ relationships.

Editorial: Lumps of coal bestowed on Newsom, Atkins

Editorial: Lumps of coal bestowed on Newsom, Atkins

  • EDITORIAL
  • by BAR Editorial Board
  • Dec 20, 2023

While there were a lot of good LGBTQ-related bills that came out of Sacramento this year, Governor Gavin Newsom and lesbian outgoing state Senate President pro Tempore Toni Atkins (D-San Diego) whiffed on a couple of things.

Editorial: Becerra's HHS is moving on health equity

Editorial: Becerra's HHS is moving on health equity

  • EDITORIAL
  • by BAR Editorial Board
  • Dec 13, 2023

Earlier this week, Xavier Becerra, the Health and Human Services secretary in the Biden administration, held a meeting with leaders from LGBTQI+ civil rights organizations.

Editorial: That was quick

Editorial: That was quick

No sooner had we editorialized about the danger of three potential anti-trans initiatives appearing on the November 2024 ballot in California than proponents pulled a fast one.

Guest Opinion: How legal attacks on LGBTQ+ rights affect mental health

Guest Opinion: How legal attacks on LGBTQ+ rights affect mental health

While significant strides have been made over the last two decades in recognizing and protecting the rights of the LGBTQ+ community, challenges persist.

Editorial: EQCA needs to mount decline to sign campaign to thwart anti-trans measures

Editorial: EQCA needs to mount decline to sign campaign to thwart anti-trans measures

  • EDITORIAL
  • by BAR Editorial Board
  • Nov 29, 2023

As we have reported, in early November, the California Secretary of State's office cleared three anti-trans ballot measures to begin collecting signatures to qualify for the November 2024 ballot.

Editorial: Communities should lead fight against HIV/AIDS

Editorial: Communities should lead fight against HIV/AIDS

  • EDITORIAL
  • by BAR Editorial Board
  • Nov 21, 2023

The theme for the 35th annual World AIDS Day coming up on December 1 is "Let Communities Lead."

Guest Opinion: 5 great ways to create positive change in your community

Guest Opinion: 5 great ways to create positive change in your community

Few things are more rewarding than standing up for a cause you believe in, especially when it is of importance in your local community.

Editorial: Biden needs to nominate LGBTQ judges

Editorial: Biden needs to nominate LGBTQ judges

  • EDITORIAL
  • by BAR Editorial Board
  • Nov 15, 2023

If LGBTQ voters need another reason to reelect President Joe Biden next year, we've got two words for you: federal judges.

Guest Opinion: Telling our stories as an act of resistance

Guest Opinion: Telling our stories as an act of resistance

In 1999, before I even knew I was trans, I sat in a dark movie theater watching "Boys Don't Cry."

Editorial: Standing up to hate

Editorial: Standing up to hate

California will soon observe United Against Hate Week — November 12-18 — and it's needed now more than ever.