Opinion » Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: The US fails to protect asylum seekers

Guest Opinion: The US fails to protect asylum seekers

By Anna Lijphart

Federal asylum authorities recently announced a bizarre policy change that punishes asylum seekers who have already been waiting in the queue for years.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 618 Stories

By Rob Daroff | April 25, 2018

The San Francisco Board of Supervisors recently voted to ban fur sales, making it the third and largest U.S. city to pass such a prohibition.

By Rebecca Rolfe and Roberto OrdeƱana | April 18, 2018

People of color, queer people, women, and people with disabilities know that bigotry is deeply rooted in this country's DNA. Our differences have always been used as a weapon to divide us.


By Cleve Jones | April 12, 2018

A veteran gay activist explains why the Castro Street Fair is important and why you should attend an upcoming community meeting.

By Nick Large | April 4, 2018

In 2011, I decided to pack my bags and move to San Francisco. I told my parents I wanted to venture off into the world on my own, studying psychology.


By by I.W. Gregorio | March 28, 2018

When Governor Jerry Brown signed the Gender Recognition Act (Senate Bill 179) last October, it gave nonbinary and intersex adults in California an unprecedented validation.

By Michael Colbruno | March 21, 2018

This month I decided not to run for another term as a board member and political action committee chair of the East Bay Stonewall Democratic Club, ending an almost continuous string of involvement in LGBT organizations, causes, and clubs.


By Angela Bradstreet, Terry Stewart, Donna Hitchens, and Linda Colfax | March 14, 2018

San Francisco's LGBT judges urge the re-election of four of their straight colleagues.

By April Roeseler | March 7, 2018

In less than two years, California's Tobacco 21, or "T21," law has proved to be a powerful weapon in the war on illegal tobacco sales to underage youth.


By Dana Van Gorder | February 28, 2018

During the eight years of Barack Obama's presidency, great progress on HIV and hepatitis C occurred as a result of his vigorous, compassionate, and competent leadership.

By Ricardo Lara | February 21, 2018

In my race to become California's next insurance commissioner - and our first openly gay statewide elected leader - I have traveled all over the state, and there is one question I always get.


By John Bauters | February 14, 2018

Despite significant efforts to combat homelessness, the needs of the homeless population are outpacing the local response.

By by Rick Smolan and Jennifer Erwitt | February 7, 2018

The LGBTQ movement for equality dates back to the years after World War II - when contemporary homophobia also really began.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 618 Stories