SF Pride honors community leaders

  • by BAR staff
  • Wednesday March 6, 2024
Share this Post:
Photo: Rick Gerharter
Photo: Rick Gerharter

The San Francisco LGBTQ Pride Celebration Committee on February 29 recognized several community leaders at its Ken Jones Awards ceremony. The program is named after the Pride board's first African American chair who died in 2021 and was held in the Cityscape Lounge at the Hilton Union Square. Those honored included Marsha H. Levine, left, with the Teddy Witherington Award; Dennis McMillan (aka Sister Dana Van Iquity), the Audrey Joseph LGBTQ Entertainment Award; Stephen Torres, the Pride Community Award; presenter Sister Roma; Adela Vasquez, José Julio Sarria History Maker Award; Julian Delgado Popera; and Marcel Pardo Ariza, Pride Creativity Award. Not pictured is Zwazzi Sowö, who received the Gilbert Baker Pride Founder's Award. Not present were winners Michelle Alcedo, 10 Years of Service Award; and Yoseñio V. Lewis, who received the Pride Freedom Award.

Never miss a story! Keep up to date on the latest news, arts, politics, entertainment, and nightlife. Sign up for the Bay Area Reporter's free weekday email newsletter. You'll receive our newsletters and special offers from our community partners.

Support California's largest LGBTQ newsroom. Your one-time, monthly, or annual contribution advocates for LGBTQ communities. Amplify a trusted voice providing news, information, and cultural coverage to all members of our community, regardless of their ability to pay -- Donate today!