Lambda Literary Award 2022 winners announced

  • by Jim Provenzano
  • Saturday June 11, 2022
Share this Post:
Lambda Literary Award 2022 winners announced

Lambda Literary announced the winners of the 34th Annual Lambda Literary Awards at a live virtual award ceremony on June 11 hosted by award-winning writer and activist Raquel Willis.

This year's winners list is once again an impressive mix of books from publishers both large and small. This year's awards honor exciting new LGBTQ voices like Brian Broome, winner in the Gay Memoir/Biography category for his masterful debut memoir, "Punch Me Up To the Gods: A Memoir," and Lee Lai, whose debut graphic novel, "Stone Fruit," won in the LGBTQ Comics category.

Jeanne Thornton's critically-acclaimed novel Summer Fun won the Lammy for Transgender Fiction, and Sarah Schulman, whose Let the Record Show: A Political History of ACT UP New York, 1987-1993, one of the best reviewed books of 2021, won the Lammy for LGBTQ Nonfiction.

The evening's celebration, held virtually for the second year in a row due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, also doubled as a fundraiser to help support Lambda Literary's programs, preceded by an afternoon of readings from the finalists.

Bisexual Fiction

"We Want What We Want," Alix Ohlin, House Anansi Press

Bisexual Nonfiction

"Borealis," Aisha Sabatini Sloan, Coffee House Press

Bisexual Poetry

"Gumbo Ya Ya," Aurielle Marie, University of Pittsburgh Press

Gay Fiction

"100 Boyfriends," Brontez Purnell, MCD x FSG Originals

Gay Memoir/Biography

"Punch Me Up to the Gods: A Memoir," Brian Broome, Mariner Books

Gay Poetry

"Punks: New & Selected Poems," John Keene, The Song Cave

Gay Romance

"Excellent Sons: A Love Story in Three Acts," Larry Benjamin, Beaten Track Publishing

Lesbian Fiction

"Skye Falling," Mia McKenzie, Random House

Lesbian Memoir/Biography

"The One You Want to Marry (And Other Identities I've Had): A Memoir," Sophie Santos, Topple Books

Lesbian Poetry

"Last Days," Tamiko Beyer, Alice James Books

Lesbian Romance

"The Headmistress," Milena McKay, Self-Published

LGBTQ Anthology

"Mouths of Rain: An Anthology of Black Lesbian Thought," Edited by Briona Simone Jones, The New Press

LGBTQ Children's/Middle Grade

"Calvin," JR and Vanessa Ford, G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers

LGBTQ Comics

"Stone Fruit," Lee Lai, Fantagraphics Books


"Mrs. Harrison," R. Eric Thomas, TRW Plays

LGBTQ Erotica

"Big Joe," Samuel R. Delany, Inpatient Press

LGBTQ Mystery

"The Savage Kind," John Copenhaver, Pegasus Books

LGBTQ Nonfiction

"Let the Record Show: A Political History of ACT UP New York, 1987-1993" Sarah Schulman, Farrar, Strauss, & Giroux

LGBTQ Speculative Fiction

"No Gods, No Monsters," Cadwell Turnbull, Blackstone Publishing

LGBTQ Studies

"Vice Patrol: Cops, Courts, and the Struggle over Urban Gay Life before Stonewall," Anna Lvovsky, University of Chicago Press

LGBTQ Young Adult

"The Heartbreak Bakery," A. R. Capetta, Candlewick Press

Transgender Fiction

"Summer Fun," Jeanne Thornton, Soho Press

Transgender Nonfiction

"Belly of the Beast: The Politics of Anti-Fatness as Anti-Blackness," Da'Shaun Harrison, North Atlantic Books

Transgender Poetry

"Crossbones on My Life," Mason J, Nomadic Press

Lambda Literary previously announced the recipients of this year's honorary awards, including a new award given for the first time this year, the J. Michael Samuel Prize for emerging LGBTQ writers over 50. The prize is earmarked for unpublished writers working in any genre, and this year's inaugural winner was Jobert E. Abueva, who also received the $5000 monetary award.

The Randall Kenan Prize for Black LGBTQ Fiction, in its second year, was awarded to Kalynn Bayron, who received the $3000 cash prize, with two $250 honorable mention prizes going to Robert Jones, Jr. and Mecca Jamilah Sullivan.

Other special prizes awarded this year included Vi Khi Nao and Silas House winning the Jim Duggins Outstanding Mid-Career Novelist Prize, a $5,000 prize given annually to two LGBTQ-identified authors who have published multiple novels and show promise to continue publishing high quality work for years to come.

Aisha Sabatini Sloan won the $2,500 Jeanne Córdova Prize for Lesbian/Queer Nonfiction, granted to a writer committed to nonfiction work that captures the depth and complexity of lesbian and queer life, culture, and history. The Judith Markowitz Award recognizes two writers whose work demonstrates exceptional potential, and Morgan Thomas and Ching-In Chen were awarded this year's $1,500 prizes.

Help keep the Bay Area Reporter going in these tough times. To support local, independent, LGBTQ journalism, consider becoming a BAR member.