Opinion » Guest Opinion

Viewing 13 thru 24 of 638 Stories

By Carmen Chu | July 4, 2018

Earlier this year, I partnered with assessors across the state to draft and introduce Assembly Bill 2663.

By Brian Basinger | June 27, 2018

This fall, Californians will have a chance to vote on the Affordable Housing Act, which would repeal the Costa-Hawkins Rental Housing Act and return to city governments the option to expand rent control if they feel it's necessary.


By Jewelle Gomez | June 20, 2018

This year I have the honor of being the lifetime achievement grand marshal for the San Francisco Pride parade. I haven't missed a Pride parade since I moved to California 25 years ago.

By Rafael Mandelman | June 13, 2018

District 8 Supervisor-elect Rafael Mandelman thanks voters after his victory in last week's election.


By Richard Schneider Jr. | June 6, 2018

As we sprint toward the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall riots next year, we at the Gay & Lesbian Review are celebrating our 25th year of publication.

By Naphtali Offen | May 30, 2018

In April 2017, the San Francisco Board of Supervisors voted unanimously to eliminate the sale of menthol and other flavor additives in all nicotine products sold in the city.


By Annise Parker | May 29, 2018

The lesbian former mayor of Houston explains why gay San Francisco mayoral candidate Maek Leno is the best choice for voters.

By Anna Lijphart | May 2, 2018

Federal asylum authorities recently announced a bizarre policy change that punishes asylum seekers who have already been waiting in the queue for years.


By Rob Daroff | April 25, 2018

The San Francisco Board of Supervisors recently voted to ban fur sales, making it the third and largest U.S. city to pass such a prohibition.

By Rebecca Rolfe and Roberto OrdeƱana | April 18, 2018

People of color, queer people, women, and people with disabilities know that bigotry is deeply rooted in this country's DNA. Our differences have always been used as a weapon to divide us.


By Cleve Jones | April 12, 2018

A veteran gay activist explains why the Castro Street Fair is important and why you should attend an upcoming community meeting.

By Nick Large | April 4, 2018

In 2011, I decided to pack my bags and move to San Francisco. I told my parents I wanted to venture off into the world on my own, studying psychology.


Viewing 13 thru 24 of 638 Stories