Opinion » Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: The 1st test of LGBTQ+ rights on Barrett court

Guest Opinion: The 1st test of LGBTQ+ rights on Barrett court

By Michael Vargas

For at least the past 15 years, the U.S. Supreme Court has had a 5-4 conservative majority.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 745 Stories

By Mike Smith | November 24, 2020

For the first World AIDS Day on December 1, 1988 the World Health Organization gave a small grant to the fledgling Names Project (its AIDS Memorial Quilt being then a little more than a year old).

By Alex Paterson | November 18, 2020

Marilyn Monroe Cazares was a 22-year-old transgender Latina who "courageously lived her truth" in Brawley, California.


By Andrew Kelly | November 4, 2020

After realizing I was gay in the waning years of the Obama era, it always seemed as if there were two dueling factions in the fight to ensure equality for people like me.

By Shayne Watson | October 28, 2020

"Shayne, Phyllis Lyon is on line 2."


By Jerald Crook | October 21, 2020

I first encountered the Invisible Histories Project through its director of research and development Maigen Sullivan.

By Maureen Bogue and David Eugene Perry | October 14, 2020

On September 22, our nation took a giant step backward.


By by Michael Nguyen and Mike Chen | October 7, 2020

"Get back in the closet." "You are a disgrace." "Stop talking about your sexuality." "You should be disowned."

By Cynthia Laird | September 18, 2020

In a continuing effort to receive support from readers, the Bay Area Reporter has launched its membership program.


By Alan Lessik | September 2, 2020

If you were locked down over the last several months with your partner or partners, intimacy has likely been a key part of quarantine survival.

By Greg Rowe-Pasos | August 26, 2020

Thirty years ago while flying in a helicopter full of journalists to a news conference, I looked around me and suddenly knew beyond a shadow of a doubt I needed to leave my glossy magazine career to put all my awake time into helping save my community.


By Délara Shadfar | August 19, 2020

As a teenager starting to discover who I am, I'm also discovering the world and its problems.

By Charles F. Champion | August 17, 2020

A brand management and crisis communication professor I know at a leading university contends that brands reside in the minds of customers, not at company headquarters.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 745 Stories