Opinion » Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Preston should listen to research, not insult researchers

Guest Opinion: Preston should listen to research, not insult researchers

By David Broockman

Last month, I asked my representative on the Board of Supervisors, Dean Preston, to make it easier to build new housing in our city.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 757 Stories

By Advertising Department | February 24, 2021

America's longest continuously-published and highest weekly circulation LGBTQ newspaper will celebrate its historic 50th anniversary edition to be published on April 1. Advertising space reservations for this special issue are now being accepted.

By Seth Brenzel | February 17, 2021

On February 9, the 25th anniversary of my first date with my husband, the San Francisco Board of Education considered my nomination to join the volunteer Parent Advisory Council.


By Brendalynn R. Goodall | February 10, 2021

When I was a little girl, there was no Black History Month.

By Leroy F. Moore Jr. | February 3, 2021

I had to create my mirror and now it is an international reflection as a Black disabled person.


By Derek Washington | January 20, 2021

To say I held my bated breath until it was clear that "Uncle Joe" had won would be the understatement of a century. Or two. Add in "Auntie" Kamala and my gay self has been in an election coma ever since.

By Evan Low | January 7, 2021

Thousands of Trump supporters swarmed the U.S. Capitol on Wednesday, January 6, to commit seditious acts that were motivated by ignorance and white supremacy, which obviously go hand in hand.


By Nick Gorton | January 6, 2021

It is no secret that many hospital emergency departments are struggling.

By John Lisovsky | December 29, 2020

From 2010 to 2020, the world fĂȘted San Francisco. New startups, new graduates, new immigrants — all wanted to share in its glittering promise.


By Jim Mitulski | December 22, 2020

This is a good year for Christmas. We need the joy, the light, hope, the gifts, the promise, the peace. All of it.

By David Chiu | December 9, 2020

In 2015, my first year in the Legislature, working alongside Equality California, I introduced Assembly Bill 959, the LGBT Disparities Reduction Act.


By James May | December 1, 2020

As we observe another World AIDS Day December 1, I wish I could believe a cure was in sight but unfortunately I cannot.

By Mike Smith | November 24, 2020

For the first World AIDS Day on December 1, 1988 the World Health Organization gave a small grant to the fledgling Names Project (its AIDS Memorial Quilt being then a little more than a year old).


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 757 Stories