Opinion » Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Susan Sontag and me: Epidemics I have lived through

Guest Opinion: Susan Sontag and me: Epidemics I have lived through

By Les K. Wright

When the COVID-19 shutdown began in the spring of 2020, I posted on Facebook that I expected the pandemic to be, for me, a pain in the ass, a royal pain in the ass.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 787 Stories

By Annie Koruga | September 8, 2021

Homophobes don't belong in the Democratic Party.

By BAR staff | September 8, 2021

This week's letters offer opinions on the B.A.R.'s tobacco ads in the print edition, the rainbow flag flap, and support for the Alameda Democratic County Central Committee's new bylaw change.


By Gaynorann Siataga | September 1, 2021

Members of several Pacific Islander groups in San Francisco urge LGBTQs not to support the recall of school board Vice President Faauuga Moliga.

By by Jeff Sheehy | August 25, 2021

Former San Francisco Supervisor Jeff Sheehy discusses controversy surrounding Gilbert Baker's rainbow flag in the Castro.


By by Jim Chappell | August 18, 2021

In 1977 I escaped from the Midwest and arrived in our gay haven, the Castro. Even though I was in my early 30s I did something a young person would never be able to do today ... buy a fixer in District 8.

By Tiffany Woods and Lester Aponte | August 11, 2021

Governor Gavin Newsom has been a champion of LGBTQ+ equality for decades. Full Stop!


By Shanell Williams and Tom Temprano | August 4, 2021

City College of San Francisco's students, faculty, and staff faced significant challenges during COVID-19, and the safety of our students has been at the forefront of the college's pandemic response.

By Bevan Dufty | July 21, 2021

In just about seven weeks, Californians will head back to the polls to vote whether to recall Governor Gavin Newsom.


By Ed Carter | July 7, 2021

The 117th Congress is the most diverse the United States has ever seen.

By Isra Ahmad | June 30, 2021

Because "We the People" should select our representatives and not the other way around, the independent California Citizens Redistricting Commission, or CRC, was established in 2008 by citizen initiative.


By James Coleman | June 25, 2021

This June, South San Francisco raised the Progress Pride flag.

By Andrew Kelly | June 24, 2021

Recently, the topic of kink- and fetish-related exhibits at Pride parades has become a flashpoint within the culture war


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 787 Stories