Opinion » Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Being out at Wells Fargo

Guest Opinion: Being out at Wells Fargo

By Matt Hurwitz

I came out to my family when I was 26 years old. Even though I was certain they'd be loving and supportive once they wrapped their heads around the news, for some reason, the idea of saying "I'm gay" was terrifying.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 773 Stories

By David Chiu | June 9, 2021

This year, GOP-controlled states throughout our country have advanced an unprecedented number of discriminatory bills targeting our transgender and gender-nonconforming community, particularly TGNC young people.

By Fay Zenoff | June 9, 2021

What queer identity and addiction have in common is that one can choose to be closeted about both.


By Matt Sharp | June 2, 2021

Oaklawn, Dallas, 1984. Back then, I stopped into the Crossroads Market about once a week to pick up the latest issue of the New York Native, a gay political newsprint magazine where I could get the very latest information about AIDS.

By John-Manuel Andriote | June 2, 2021

Like every gay man paying attention at the time, I heard about the "new disease" afflicting gay men not long after it was first reported in 1981.


By Karyn Skultety | May 26, 2021

As I prepare for my last day as the executive director of Openhouse on May 31, I am left speechless by the honor it has been to do this job.

By Michael Trung Nguyen | May 19, 2021

GAPA was founded in 1988 by a group of gay and bi Asian and Pacific Islander men who had been meeting as a rap group at the Pacific Center for Human Growth in Berkeley.


By Stephanie Battaglino | May 12, 2021

So there I was. Standing all by myself in the middle of this fairly large and open lobby in a building that had about a thousand people in it — and no one was around.

By Gustavo Staufert | May 5, 2021

As a proud Guadalajara native, or Tapatío as we refer to ourselves locally, I spend my days waxing poetic about all our beautiful city has to offer visitors.


By Christina Morris | April 23, 2021

On a hilly residential street in Noe Valley, the small house at 651 Duncan Street gives no hint of its outsized role in influencing over 50 years of LGBTQIA+ civil rights.

By M.K. Leach | April 14, 2021

COVID-19 has impacted California in many ways, from causing increased job loss to deaths to forcing the closure of countless businesses to increased substance use within many demographics.


By David Chiu | April 7, 2021

At just past the one-year mark of COVID-19, we have seen the devastating consequences of the pandemic in every aspect of society.

By Thomas E. Horn | March 31, 2021

For 50 years the Bay Area Reporter has chronicled the development of the LGBT movement in San Francisco.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 773 Stories