Opinion » Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: How I learned to stop worrying and love the vote

Guest Opinion: How I learned to stop worrying and love the vote

By Derek Washington

To say I held my bated breath until it was clear that "Uncle Joe" had won would be the understatement of a century. Or two. Add in "Auntie" Kamala and my gay self has been in an election coma ever since.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 752 Stories

By Evan Low | January 7, 2021

Thousands of Trump supporters swarmed the U.S. Capitol on Wednesday, January 6, to commit seditious acts that were motivated by ignorance and white supremacy, which obviously go hand in hand.

By Nick Gorton | January 6, 2021

It is no secret that many hospital emergency departments are struggling.


By John Lisovsky | December 29, 2020

From 2010 to 2020, the world fĂȘted San Francisco. New startups, new graduates, new immigrants — all wanted to share in its glittering promise.

By Jim Mitulski | December 22, 2020

This is a good year for Christmas. We need the joy, the light, hope, the gifts, the promise, the peace. All of it.


By David Chiu | December 9, 2020

In 2015, my first year in the Legislature, working alongside Equality California, I introduced Assembly Bill 959, the LGBT Disparities Reduction Act.

By James May | December 1, 2020

As we observe another World AIDS Day December 1, I wish I could believe a cure was in sight but unfortunately I cannot.


By Mike Smith | November 24, 2020

For the first World AIDS Day on December 1, 1988 the World Health Organization gave a small grant to the fledgling Names Project (its AIDS Memorial Quilt being then a little more than a year old).

By Alex Paterson | November 18, 2020

Marilyn Monroe Cazares was a 22-year-old transgender Latina who "courageously lived her truth" in Brawley, California.


By Michael Vargas | November 11, 2020

For at least the past 15 years, the U.S. Supreme Court has had a 5-4 conservative majority.

By Andrew Kelly | November 4, 2020

After realizing I was gay in the waning years of the Obama era, it always seemed as if there were two dueling factions in the fight to ensure equality for people like me.


By Shayne Watson | October 28, 2020

"Shayne, Phyllis Lyon is on line 2."

By Jerald Crook | October 21, 2020

I first encountered the Invisible Histories Project through its director of research and development Maigen Sullivan.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 752 Stories