Opinion

Guest Opinion: Federal funds needed to end AIDS

Guest Opinion: Federal funds needed to end AIDS

By Barbara Lee

We've made incredible progress in the fight against HIV and AIDS over the past several decades, but the fight is far from over.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 1612 Stories

By Paul Berge | September 18, 2019

This week's editorial cartoon.

By BAR Editorial Board | September 18, 2019

One gay state lawmaker's effort to treat young sex offenders equally was torpedoed last month by Assemblywoman Lorena Gonzalez (D-San Diego) who chairs the powerful Assembly Appropriations Committee.


By BAR Editorial Board | September 11, 2019

The news Tuesday that San Francisco had fewer than 200 new HIV infections in 2018 was greeted with the praise it deserves.

By Nancy Tung | September 11, 2019

We see around us every day that what's happening on our streets isn't working.


By Suzy Loftus | September 11, 2019

We San Franciscans are blessed to live in a city that celebrates our rich diversity, where we find sanctuary with one another.

By Scott Wiener | September 11, 2019

Gay state Senator Scott Wiener makes the case for Kamala Harris for president.


By Paul Berge | September 11, 2019

This week's editorial cartoon.

By BAR staff | September 11, 2019

This week's letters to the editor.


By BAR Editorial Board | September 4, 2019

The newspaper industry in California, which has suffered steep declines in subscribers and advertising revenue over the past decade, is about to be dealt what will likely be a fatal blow under Assembly Bill 5.

By Leif Dautch | September 4, 2019

When it comes to homelessness, car break-ins, and police accountability, the San Francisco District Attorney's office has been part of the problem — I'm running to make it part of the solution.


By Chesa Boudin | September 4, 2019

When I was in diapers, my parents drove the getaway car in an armed robbery that tragically took three lives. My mother spent 22 years in prison.

By Paul Berge | September 4, 2019

This week's editorial cartoon.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 1612 Stories