Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: What's next for the LGBTQ movement

Guest Opinion: What's next for the LGBTQ movement

  • by Rebecca Isaacs
  • Jan 2, 2019

I spent my young adulthood in the Castro during the height of the AIDS epidemic. President Ronald Reagan was ignoring the plight of my friends, our community, and worse, he was engaging in fearmongering and bullying at a time when the nation needed unity

Guest Opinion: Don't forget immigrant kids

Guest Opinion: Don't forget immigrant kids

  • by Jim Mitulski
  • Dec 26, 2018

Last week in church, we sang a Christmas carol, familiar to some, about providing a warm and safe place for a refugee child displaced by government and rendered temporarily without a home.

Guest Opinion: Hope and gratitude

Guest Opinion: Hope and gratitude

  • by Karen Kai
  • Dec 19, 2018

A remarkable artwork reflecting Nelson Mandela's expression of hope is on public display at San Francisco's Grace Cathedral this month.

Guest Opinion: Help Castro's homeless during the holidays

Guest Opinion: Help Castro's homeless during the holidays

  • by Andrea Aiello
  • Dec 12, 2018

No matter what your spiritual beliefs, the holidays are a time of giving to those less fortunate.

Guest Opinion: Dear Ms. Chenoweth, don't sing with Mormon Tabernacle Choir

Guest Opinion: Dear Ms. Chenoweth, don't sing with Mormon Tabernacle Choir

  • by Fred Karger
  • Dec 5, 2018

Gay activist argues that singer Kristin Chenoweth should not perform with the Mormon Tabernacle Choir.

Guest Opinion: HIV response fails black GBTs

Guest Opinion: HIV response fails black GBTs

  • by Ace Robinson
  • Nov 28, 2018

Last week, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention released its HIV Surveillance Report. And, like every year in recent memory, the result told us what we already suspected.

Guest Opinion: Beyond representation

Guest Opinion: Beyond representation

  • by Edafe Okporo
  • Nov 20, 2018

President Donald Trump's administration reduced the number of refugees allowed into the country for 2019 to 30,000, a historic low, and placed a ban on the southern border processing of asylum claims, leading to more detention of migrants at the border.

Guest Opinion: Let's get to work in District 6

Guest Opinion: Let's get to work in District 6

  • by Matt Haney
  • Nov 14, 2018

Last week, I was honored to be elected as the next supervisor for District 6, representing the Tenderloin, South of Market, Mission Bay, South Beach, Rincon Hill, and Treasure Island.

Guest Opinion: Displacement hits Galería de la Raza

Guest Opinion: Displacement hits Galería de la Raza

  • by Erick Arguello
  • Nov 7, 2018

Galería de la Raza is an institution that is deeply rooted in the Mission district's identity of culture, art, resistance, and celebration.

Guest Opinion: We will not be erased!

Guest Opinion: We will not be erased!

  • by Clair Farley
  • Oct 31, 2018

Last week the New York Times exposed yet another attack by the Trump administration on transgender and gender-nonconforming (TGNC) Americans by calling for the Department of Health and Human Services to redefine sex for the purposes of Title IX.

Guest Opinion: Prop C will help the homeless

Guest Opinion: Prop C will help the homeless

  • by Bevan Dufty
  • Sep 26, 2018

At this point, everyone who lives, works, or visits San Francisco has become an expert on homelessness.

Guest Opinion: A 'thing' (or an 'it'?) called both-siderism

Guest Opinion: A 'thing' (or an 'it'?) called both-siderism

  • by by Katrina C. Rose
  • Sep 19, 2018

The remark Marshall McPeek, a gay meteorologist at a Sinclair-owned TV station in Ohio, made at this year's NLGJA conference is the here and now.

Guest Opinion: Everybody's wrong in NLGJA fiasco

Guest Opinion: Everybody's wrong in NLGJA fiasco

  • by Steve Friess
  • Sep 12, 2018

NLGJA: The Association of LGBTQ Journalists was concluding a lovely annual convention in Palm Springs last weekend when a nice man said a stupid thing and a lot of other presumably nice, reasonable people became angry.

Guest Opinion: Zhao unfit to serve on SF school board

Guest Opinion: Zhao unfit to serve on SF school board

  • by Marilyn Murrillo
  • Sep 5, 2018

We need members on the San Francisco Unified School District Board of Trustees who are effective leaders dedicated to the safety and education of all students.