Opinion :: Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Liberal status quo brought us to this moment
Guest Opinion: Beyond the bubble: Pride in Israel from the North to the South

Guest Opinion: Beyond the bubble: Pride in Israel from the North to the South

  • by Matan Zamir
  • Jun 22, 2022

Located at the eastern edge of the Mediterranean Sea, Israel is internationally recognized as the LGBTQ+ capital of the Middle East.

Guest Opinion: LGBTQs ready for smoke-free bar patios this Pride

Guest Opinion: LGBTQs ready for smoke-free bar patios this Pride

  • by Amaya Wooding
  • Jun 22, 2022

It's Pride 2022, and we are back in the streets to celebrate in-person again!

Guest Opinion: Substance abuse, suicide on rise in CA

Guest Opinion: Substance abuse, suicide on rise in CA

  • by Marcel Gemme
  • Jun 15, 2022

Substance use disorder and suicide are on the rise in California.

Guest Opinion: With skyrocketing STI rates, LGBTQ+ Californians need a pathway to equitable health care

Guest Opinion: With skyrocketing STI rates, LGBTQ+ Californians need a pathway to equitable health care

  • by Tami Martin and Nomsa Khalfani
  • Jun 8, 2022

As COVID-19 cases are back on the rise, California and the U.S. continue to face another public health epidemic that is going in the wrong direction — sexually transmitted infections.

Guest Opinion: The SF assessor's office is working for you

Guest Opinion: The SF assessor's office is working for you

  • by Joaquín Torres
  • Jun 1, 2022

In February 2022, I was elected as your assessor-recorder and I am honored to represent and serve you.

Guest Opinion: Hope of deliverance

Guest Opinion: Hope of deliverance

  • by Paulina Angel
  • Apr 13, 2022

Looking back at the last two years, it feels like an eternity.

Guest Opinion: Addressing discrepancy in care: CA's TGI Inclusive Care Act

Guest Opinion: Addressing discrepancy in care: CA's TGI Inclusive Care Act

  • by Pau Crego and JM Jaffe
  • Mar 30, 2022

Last month, gay state Senator Scott Wiener (D-San Francisco) introduced Senate Bill 293, the TGI Inclusive Care Act.

Guest Opinion: Milk plaza plan has broad support

Guest Opinion: Milk plaza plan has broad support

  • by Alex Lemberg
  • Mar 23, 2022

The long-awaited reimagining of Harvey Milk Plaza and the Castro Muni Station have broad public support in the neighborhood.

Guest Opinion: Why I'm running for Congress

Guest Opinion: Why I'm running for Congress

  • by Derek Marshall
  • Mar 16, 2022

I didn't come out as gay until my late 20s. I feared that if I showed my true identity, I would be judged, rejected, or discriminated against.

Guest Opinion: Why the queer community came out for the SF school board recall

Guest Opinion: Why the queer community came out for the SF school board recall

  • by David "Gaybraham Lincoln" Thompson
  • Mar 2, 2022

The recall of San Francisco school board President Gabriela López and Commissioners Faauuga Moliga and Alison Collins united the entire city in demanding competent leaders for our children, and it would not have happened without the LGBTQIA community.

Guest Opinion: SFUSD management seeks to fire beloved queer mentor and math teacher

Guest Opinion: SFUSD management seeks to fire beloved queer mentor and math teacher

  • by John Lisovsky
  • Feb 18, 2022

The national teacher shortage has not spared San Francisco, which is seeing extreme difficulty filling teaching positions.

Guest Opinion: Celebrating a name change? Protect your financial future

Guest Opinion: Celebrating a name change? Protect your financial future

  • by Eric J. Ellman
  • Feb 16, 2022

If you're transitioning into your true gender identity, legally changing your name marks an important milestone in becoming your authentic self.

Guest Opinion: Addicted to supremacy

Guest Opinion: Addicted to supremacy

  • by Dwayne Ratleff
  • Feb 2, 2022

After returning home and putting the food away, our mother instructed [my sister and I] to change out of our play clothes and into our school clothes.

Guest Opinion: The price of banking

Guest Opinion: The price of banking

  • by Charlie Hunts
  • Jan 26, 2022

What if using a credit card meant being deadnamed every time that you pulled it out. Due to defunct security practices at traditional banks, for most of the trans community that's reality.