Opinion

Editorial: FDA misses with blood ban revisions
Guest Opinion: SF drag artists should apply for inaugural laureate position

Guest Opinion: SF drag artists should apply for inaugural laureate position

The art of drag has never been more celebrated and simultaneously more under attack than it is today.

Editorial: Movement on SF consumption sites

Editorial: Movement on SF consumption sites

  • EDITORIAL
  • by BAR Editorial Board
  • Jan 25, 2023

At long last, there is movement among city leaders to establish privately-run safe consumption sites in San Francisco.

Letters to the editor

Letters to the editor

Another Planet Entertainment's spokesperson writes about why the Castro Theatre is the economic engine of the LGBTQ neighborhood.

Editorial: Feinstein needs to make her decision

Editorial: Feinstein needs to make her decision

  • EDITORIAL
  • by BAR Editorial Board
  • Jan 18, 2023

U.S. Senator Dianne Feinstein (D-California) needs to make her decision soon about retiring or running for reelection in 2024.

Guest Opinion: Becoming Brown and gay in LA

Guest Opinion: Becoming Brown and gay in LA

In the early morning of June 12, 2016, a domestic terrorist entered Pulse, a gay nightclub in Orlando, Florida, and opened fire.

Editorial: We're looking for action by new SF board

Editorial: We're looking for action by new SF board

  • EDITORIAL
  • by BAR Editorial Board
  • Jan 13, 2023

Yes, we're excited and optimistic, because for the first time ever, three gay men are serving as elected members of the San Francisco Board of Supervisors.

Guest Opinion: Reflecting on 2022 as we forge ahead into the new year

Guest Opinion: Reflecting on 2022 as we forge ahead into the new year

2022 was a year of incredible highs and regressive lows, exhilaration and devastation, and many measures in between.

Editorial: Anti-trans attacks poised to continue

Editorial: Anti-trans attacks poised to continue

If 2022 was one of the worst years on record in terms of anti-trans legislation in various state legislatures, the LGBTQ community should prepare for what portends to be an equally bad year in 2023.

Guest Opinion: Leading with humanity: Putting the 'H' into LGBTQ+(H)

Guest Opinion: Leading with humanity: Putting the 'H' into LGBTQ+(H)

When I think of my life story and the series of events that brought me to where I am today, two words come to mind: adversity and resilience.

Editorial: Our wish list for Newsom in 2023

Editorial: Our wish list for Newsom in 2023

  • EDITORIAL
  • by BAR Editorial Board
  • Dec 28, 2022

The Bay Area Reporter editorial board has some ideas for how California Governor Gavin Newsom can use his political capital in 2023.

Guest Opinion: Stakes are high in wedding website case

Guest Opinion: Stakes are high in wedding website case

On December 5, the U.S. Supreme Court heard arguments in 303 Creative LLC vs. Aubrey Elenis, in which the company 303 Creative preemptively seeks the right to refuse to sell wedding websites to same-sex couples.

Letters to the editor

Letters to the editor

  • LETTERS
  • by BAR news staff
  • Dec 28, 2022

This week's letter writers sound off on Republican appointed judges and the current state of San Francisco's LGBTQ Castro neighborhood.

Editorial: Log Cabin goes all-in on MAGA

Editorial: Log Cabin goes all-in on MAGA

  • EDITORIAL
  • by BAR Editorial Board
  • Dec 21, 2022

The old saying, "With friends like these, who needs enemies?" certainly applies to the Log Cabin Republicans.

Guest Opinion: Work continues to advance LGBTQ equity

Guest Opinion: Work continues to advance LGBTQ equity

  • GUEST OPINION
  • by Jamie Bruning-Miles and Tye Gregory
  • Dec 21, 2022

On Tuesday, December 13, a historic event — the signing in Washington, D.C. of the Respect for Marriage Act by President Joe Biden — brought us all together from the Bay Area.