Opinion » Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: B.A.R.'s 'No obits' turns 20

Guest Opinion: B.A.R.'s 'No obits' turns 20

By Timothy Rodrigues

The former Bay Area Reporter assistant editor who wrote the paper's famous "No obits" story reflects on it 20 years later.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 631 Stories

By Ken Jones | August 15, 2018

The Castro Muni station has meant a lot of different things to me during the past four decades: a construction site. A community rallying place. A point of entry for gay people from around the globe. And now, a workplace.

By Sandy Close | August 1, 2018

The U.S. Census Bureau is seeking public comment on its 2020 census plan, which includes a citizenship question on the census form all households must answer.


By Bradford Wolfe and Alex Grey | July 25, 2018

There are a limitless number of characteristics that people typically associate with porn stars; these individuals are often presumed to be wild, promiscuous, money-hungry, and morally bankrupt, endorsing an industry rich in corruption and violence.

By Jim Mitulski | July 18, 2018

"Hi! My name is Jim, and we're in the neighborhood today talking about human rights and civil rights for Massachusetts citizens. And, in particular, we want to talk about equal rights for our transgender friends and neighbors ..."


By Emilio Gonzalez | July 11, 2018

When I told my mother what the principal had done to me she took off her white cotton apron, put on her walking shoes, and in her everyday housedress took me by the hand, dabbed my tears, and said, "Let's go, Emilio."

By Carmen Chu | July 4, 2018

Earlier this year, I partnered with assessors across the state to draft and introduce Assembly Bill 2663.


By Brian Basinger | June 27, 2018

This fall, Californians will have a chance to vote on the Affordable Housing Act, which would repeal the Costa-Hawkins Rental Housing Act and return to city governments the option to expand rent control if they feel it's necessary.

By Jewelle Gomez | June 20, 2018

This year I have the honor of being the lifetime achievement grand marshal for the San Francisco Pride parade. I haven't missed a Pride parade since I moved to California 25 years ago.


By Rafael Mandelman | June 13, 2018

District 8 Supervisor-elect Rafael Mandelman thanks voters after his victory in last week's election.

By Richard Schneider Jr. | June 6, 2018

As we sprint toward the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall riots next year, we at the Gay & Lesbian Review are celebrating our 25th year of publication.


By Naphtali Offen | May 30, 2018

In April 2017, the San Francisco Board of Supervisors voted unanimously to eliminate the sale of menthol and other flavor additives in all nicotine products sold in the city.

By Annise Parker | May 29, 2018

The lesbian former mayor of Houston explains why gay San Francisco mayoral candidate Maek Leno is the best choice for voters.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 631 Stories