Opinion » Guest Opinion

Guest Opinion: Thank you, District 8

Guest Opinion: Thank you, District 8

By Rafael Mandelman

District 8 Supervisor-elect Rafael Mandelman thanks voters after his victory in last week's election.

Viewing 1 thru 12 of 622 Stories

By Richard Schneider Jr. | June 6, 2018

As we sprint toward the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall riots next year, we at the Gay & Lesbian Review are celebrating our 25th year of publication.

By Naphtali Offen | May 30, 2018

In April 2017, the San Francisco Board of Supervisors voted unanimously to eliminate the sale of menthol and other flavor additives in all nicotine products sold in the city.


By Annise Parker | May 29, 2018

The lesbian former mayor of Houston explains why gay San Francisco mayoral candidate Maek Leno is the best choice for voters.

By Anna Lijphart | May 2, 2018

Federal asylum authorities recently announced a bizarre policy change that punishes asylum seekers who have already been waiting in the queue for years.


By Rob Daroff | April 25, 2018

The San Francisco Board of Supervisors recently voted to ban fur sales, making it the third and largest U.S. city to pass such a prohibition.

By Rebecca Rolfe and Roberto OrdeƱana | April 18, 2018

People of color, queer people, women, and people with disabilities know that bigotry is deeply rooted in this country's DNA. Our differences have always been used as a weapon to divide us.


By Cleve Jones | April 12, 2018

A veteran gay activist explains why the Castro Street Fair is important and why you should attend an upcoming community meeting.

By Nick Large | April 4, 2018

In 2011, I decided to pack my bags and move to San Francisco. I told my parents I wanted to venture off into the world on my own, studying psychology.


By by I.W. Gregorio | March 28, 2018

When Governor Jerry Brown signed the Gender Recognition Act (Senate Bill 179) last October, it gave nonbinary and intersex adults in California an unprecedented validation.

By Michael Colbruno | March 21, 2018

This month I decided not to run for another term as a board member and political action committee chair of the East Bay Stonewall Democratic Club, ending an almost continuous string of involvement in LGBT organizations, causes, and clubs.


By Angela Bradstreet, Terry Stewart, Donna Hitchens, and Linda Colfax | March 14, 2018

San Francisco's LGBT judges urge the re-election of four of their straight colleagues.

By April Roeseler | March 7, 2018

In less than two years, California's Tobacco 21, or "T21," law has proved to be a powerful weapon in the war on illegal tobacco sales to underage youth.


Viewing 1 thru 12 of 622 Stories